Databases for Anthropology
For more Anthropology resources, try our subject guides.
- Data source
- Streaming music/media
- Image collection
- Primary source collection
- EndNote filter instructions, hold mouse over icon
AATA Online - Abstracts of International Conservation Literature (1932 - Present)
A comprehensive database of abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage.
Academic Search Premier (1965 - Present)
Multi-interdisciplinary database that provides indexing and abstracts for over 8,500 journals, with full text for many titles. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding full text articles for a variety of topics.
Online access to materials from the archives of folklorist and ethnomusicologist Alan Lomax, including rare and unique sound recordings, videos, and photographs.
Annual Review of Anthropology (1972 - Present)
Article-length reviews of topics in the academic literature in anthropology.
Article-length reviews of topics in the academic literature on law and the social sciences.
AnthropologyPlus (Early 1800 - Present)
Combines the two major anthropology literature databases, Anthropological Literature (U.S.) and Anthropological Index (U.K.). Indexes journal articles and other academic publications owned by Harvard's Tozzer Library and the Royal Anthropological Institute.
AnthroSource (1888 - Present)
Searchable digital collection of publications of the American Anthropological Association.
Includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion as well as content from other electronic books and journals related to dress and fashion. Also includes images from V&A Museum's internationally renowned fashion collection and other sources.
Bibliography of Native North Americans (16th Century - Present)
Books and journal literature on all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life.
Indexes more than 50,000 critical titles in the social sciences and humanities from 2005 to present. Books are connected to the greater citation indexes for the sciences.
China Data Online (1982 - Present)
Official Chinese government statistics at city, county, provincial, and national levels.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (1905 - Present)
Indexes articles in academic journals and trade magazines in communications and mass media. Full text articles for many sources.
Citation index of conference proceedings in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Summaries and primary documents on prehistoric cultures, searchable by region, country, and cultural characteristics.
Summaries and primary documents on world cultures, searchable by country or cultural characteristics and practices.
Provides a comprehensive and interdisciplinary reference guide to concepts in semiotics, sign theory, and cultural studies.
English translations of news releases and articles from most countries. For current content, see World News Connection.
Comprehensive overview of musical traditions worldwide.
JSTOR (1800 - Varies)
Full text complete archives of selected core scholarly journals in various disciplines. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images. Current issues of journals are generally not included.
Full-text articles from Latin American newspapers covering the years 1805-1922, including titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, and Venezuela.
Millions of full-text, fully searchable pages of primary source material covering a wide range of topics. Includes books, pamphlets, essays, photographs, newspapers, letters, maps, sheet music and more.
The first large-scale collection of methodological case studies, SAGE Research Methods Cases provides real-life examples of how research is actually conducted to help users grasp methods concepts that can often be theoretical or abstract.
Social Explorer (1790 - Present)
Social Explorer provides easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present.
Social Sciences Citation Index (1898 - Present)
Abstracts and citation searching of articles from high-impact academic journals in the social sciences.
Social Sciences Abstracts (1983 - Present)
Articles from major English language journals in the social sciences.
Sociological Abstracts (1952 - Present)
Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, books, reviews, and conference papers.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
World News Connection (1996 - 2013)
English translations of news releases and articles from most countries. For earlier content see Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports.