Databases for Biology
For more Biology resources, try our subject guides.
- Data source
- Streaming music/media
- Image collection
- Primary source collection
- EndNote filter instructions, hold mouse over icon
Academic Search Premier (1965 - Present)
Multi-interdisciplinary database that provides indexing and abstracts for over 8,500 journals, with full text for many titles. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding full text articles for a variety of topics.
AGRICOLA (1970 - Present)
Index of materials relating to all aspects of agriculture, especially government and agency reports. Includes botany, entomology, forestry, natural resources, and plant diseases.
Annual Reviews (1930 - Present)
Full text access to Annual Reviews publications in 40 disciplines in the sciences and social sciences. Synthesizes the vast amount of primary research literature and identifies the principal contributions in a given field. Coverage dates back to the first volume, which varies for each publication.
Open access publisher of a number of medical and biological journals. Most of the content is available without a connection to the Reed network.
BioOne (2000 - Present)
Collection of biological journals from small, non-commercial publishers or scientific societies. Focuses on biology, ecology, and environmental science.
BIOSIS Citation Index (1926 - Present)
The most comprehensive biological database, covering a large range and number of bioscience journals and other publications with cited reference searching.
Indexes more than 50,000 critical titles in the sciences from 2005 to present. Books are connected to the greater citation indexes of the arts & humanities and social sciences.
Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science & Technical (CPCI-S) (1990 - Present)
Citations to published literature from many significant conferences in the sciences. Ability to search by keyword, author, and cited references make this an important tool for research.
Discover research data from a wide range of international data repositories and connect them with the scientific & social sciences literature to track data citation.
Fast and comprehensive identification and assessment of the best research articles in biology and medicine by the world’s largest group of leading scientists and clinicians. F1000Prime provides researchers with a personalized literature service using a collection of innovative tools and resources.
Index to American Botanical Literature Online (1995 - Present)
Provides citations to publications dealing with general and economic botany as well as extant and fossil American plants and fungi. Including systematics and floristics, morphology, and ecology.
The Public Library of Science is a collection of open-access peer-reviewed journals covering specific areas within life and health science.
PubMed (1950 - Present)
Covers the international literature on the biomedical sciences, including the the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine. Can be searched interactively with other NCBI databases, including PubMedCentral and PubBooks.
Web of Science (1900 - Present)
Citations to articles from core journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities and conference proceedings in the sciences and social sciences. Ability to search by keyword, author, and cited references make this an important tool for research.
Collection of national and international databases of government-sponsored scientific research.
Zoological Record (1978 - Present)
The "unofficial register" for taxonomy and systematics. Provides extensive coverage of the zoological literature, from biochemistry to species accounts. Includes references from over 5000 international journals, as well as books, meetings, and reviews.