Databases for Classics


For more Classics resources, try our subject guides.

  • Data source
  • Streaming music/media
  • Image collection
  • Primary source collection
  • EndNote filter instructions, hold mouse over icon

Academic Search Premier (1965 - Present)
Multi-interdisciplinary database that provides indexing and abstracts for over 8,500 journals, with full text for many titles. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding full text articles for a variety of topics.
Acta Sanctorum (1643 - 1940)
A collection of documents (primarily in Latin, some in Greek) on the lives of Christian saints. The database contains the text of the sixty-eight printed volumes of Acta Sanctorum published from 1643 to 1940 by the Société des Bollandistes. Can be cross searched with the Patrologia Latina database.
A multi-disciplinary index covering key journals in the arts and humanities. Available through Web of Science, which is particularly good for cited reference searching - a tool that allows you to find out who has cited a certain paper and follow the development of research on a specific topic.
ATLA Religion (1949 - Present)
A comprehensive database that supports religious and theological scholarship. It includes citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, book reviews and Doctor of Ministry Projects.
The Beazley Archive at Oxford University is a definitive source for the study of Greek vases.  Search and view selected items from the  world's largest collection of photographs of ancient Greek painted pottery.
A searchable full text collection of Blackwell's companion reference books for classics.
Indexes more than 50,000 critical titles in the social sciences and humanities from 2005 to present.  Books are connected to the greater citation indexes for the sciences.
A survey of critical commentary on the work of specific authors and key texts. Also contains biographical information and bibliographies of primary and secondary works.
A searchable database comprised of: 1) dictionaries to assist translation from Latin into modern languages, 2) dictionaries providing semantic and etymological explanations in Latin of Latin words, and 3) historical Latin dictionaries.
A historical (1552) French-Latin dictionary. Part of the ARTFL French language resource.
An interdisciplinary resource for the study of women and gender in the ancient world.
Summaries and primary documents on prehistoric cultures, searchable by region, country, and cultural characteristics.
Provides a comprehensive and interdisciplinary survey of the art of persuasion.
An index of essays and articles drawn from collections and anthologies published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. Covers arts, humanities and social sciences.
Gnomon Online (1997 - Present)
An international index to classical studies with a German interface, but containing indexed content in English and many other languages. The online version primarily indexes publications from 1997 to present. Useful for finding current articles and reviews.
Humanities Abstracts (1984 - Present)
An index of articles from key scholarly journals published from 1985 to present in North America and Europe. Covers humanities and social sciences.
An index of articles from key scholarly journals published prior to 1985 in North America and Europe. Covers humanities and the social sciences.
The online edition  Kristeller's Iter Italicum, a comprehensive finding list of previously uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued classical, medieval and Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world.
JSTOR (1800 - Varies)
Full text complete archives of selected core scholarly journals in various disciplines. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images. Current issues of journals are generally not included.
L'Annee Philologique (1949 - Present)
The most comprehensive international index to research in classics. L'Annee indexes modern editions of ancient texts, journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews. Present coverage reflects 2-3 years lag time. (For older coverage from 1914-1949, see Ref PA3001 .A56).
A comprehensive database of Latin texts, containing over 3,000 texts classified under 900 authors, spanning from the patristic and medieval periods through Antiquity and the early-modern and modern eras. (For Series A, research was done to verify facts relating to the texts; for Series B, the materials have been taken directly from existing editions.)
A comprehensive database of Latin texts, containing over 3,000 texts classified under 900 authors, spanning from the patristic and medieval periods through Antiquity and the early-modern and modern eras. (For Series A, research was done to verify facts relating to the texts; for Series B, the materials have been taken directly from existing editions.)
A tool that can be used to cross-search Library of Latin Texts Series A and B.
MLA Bibliography (1921 - Present)
The major index of literary, linguistic and folklore scholarship. Covers all languages and literatures except classical Greek and Latin.
The English translation of the seminal German reference work Der Neue Pauly. An extremely comprehensive resource for classical history with a contemporary, interdisciplinary approach.
New Testament Abstracts (1985 - Present)
Indexes scholarship related to the study of the New Testament as well as related topics in archaeology, history, and philology.
Old Testament Abstracts (1978 - Present)
Indexes scholarship related to the study of the Old Testament as well as related topics in archaeology, history, and philology.
A collection of cross-searchable reference titles, such as The Oxford Classical Dictionary, Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization, and Who's Who in the Classical World. Some entries contain bibliographies.
An international, multi-disciplinary index to articles in more than 4,600 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. (Formerly called PCI -Periodicals Contents Index.)
A digital library of the classical world. Includes classical texts in translation that can be searched online, as well as links to museum images of architecture, sculpture, and vases.
Philosopher's Index (1940 - Present)
Indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields published throughout the Western World.
Project MUSE (1958 - Present)
Full text access to over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images. A good source for current articles on a variety of subjects.
A searchable database of over 80,000 images and digital materials, including works of art, photographs, maps, and primary source documents. Key collections include the VRC Art & Architecture Collection and Reed Senior Theses.
Contains virtually all Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, and the majority of surviving works up to the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453.