Databases for Dance
For more Dance resources, try our subject guides.
- Data source
- Streaming music/media
- Image collection
- Primary source collection
- EndNote filter instructions, hold mouse over icon
Indexes more than 50,000 critical titles in the social sciences and humanities from 2005 to present. Books are connected to the greater citation indexes for the sciences.
Citation index of conference proceedings in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Dance in Video is the definitive video collection for the study of 20th Century concert dance, featuring the most influential performers and companies together with dozens of documentaries, interviews, and dance instruction videos. The collection provides coverage in breadth and depth for modern dance forms, and is relevant to dance history, dance analysis, dance instruction. It includes an overview of 20th Century concert dance, including the forerunners and pioneers of modern dance, covering ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisation; an invaluable resource as dance is an inherently visual medium.
Fine Arts and Music Collection (1980 - Present)
Over 10 million full-text articles that support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Humanities Abstracts (1984 - Present)
An index of articles from key scholarly journals published from 1985 to present in North America and Europe. Covers humanities and social sciences.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907 - 1984)
An index of articles from key scholarly journals published prior to 1985 in North America and Europe. Covers humanities and the social sciences.
Indexing for books, journal articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, production documents, etc., relating to theatre and dance. Selected full text.
International Index to the Performing Arts (1864 - Present)
Citations and selected full text for journal articles and other periodicals relating to dance, theatre, music, film, and performance art.
JSTOR (1800 - Varies)
Full text complete archives of selected core scholarly journals in various disciplines. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images. Current issues of journals are generally not included.
LexisNexis Academic (1980 - Present)
Full text access to thousands of news, business and legal publications. A good source for current articles in the New York Times and other major newspapers, and for looking up information about companies, industries and countries.
Enables simultanous searching of the International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) and International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA).
Online access to full-length performances from On the Boards, a Seattle-based center for contemporary performance.
Electronic access to 4 major music reference works: the Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, the Encyclopedia of Popular Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music.
Project MUSE (1958 - Present)
Full text access to over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images. A good source for current articles on a variety of subjects.
Full text of historical newspapers, including the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Boston Globe. Also includes historical black newspapers including the Chicago Defender, the Los Angeles Sentinel, the New York Amsterdam News, and the Pittsburgh Courier. From the Basic Search page, choose 'Select multiple databases' to select a specific newspaper. Coverage varies but generally starts in the 1800s.
The OCLC Online Union Catalog, containing over 50 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Includes books, journal and newspaper titles (but not reference to individual articles), sound recordings, musical scores, films, manuscripts, etc.