Databases for Data
For more Data resources, try our subject guides.
- Data source
- Streaming music/media
- Image collection
- Primary source collection
- EndNote filter instructions, hold mouse over icon
American FactFinder (1990 - Present)
Interactive data and mapping from the U.S. Census Bureau. Includes population, housing, and other social and economic data from the decennial census of population and housing, the economic census, and from annual surveys and estimates programs.
China Data Online (1982 - Present)
Official Chinese government statistics at city, county, provincial, and national levels.
Discover research data from a wide range of international data repositories and connect them with the scientific & social sciences literature to track data citation.
Easy access to a wide variety of economic, social, and political indicators. Includes IMF's International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade (1980+), Balance of Payments, and Government Finance Statistics. Create charts online, subset and compare data from different sources, and download data from one interface.
Search and view charts, maps, and rankings of time series at the country, state, county, MSA, postal code, and census-tract/block group levels.
Finding aid for statistical web sites and data series produced by more than 100 agencies of the federal government.
FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data) (1913 - Present)
Thousands of U.S. economic data time series available as text or Excel downloads.
Historical Statistics of the United States (1700s - 1975)
The standard source for statistical information about American history.
Data archive for social scientists. Reed community members may download data and documentation. Proficiency in a statistical program such as STATA, SPSS, or SAS is needed to use these data sets.
The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available. Includes data on International Financial Statistics, Balance of Payment Statistics, Government Finance Statistics, and Direction of Trade Statistics.
International Financial Statistics (1945 - Present)
Select and download indicators from the International Monetary Fund.
LexisNexis Academic (1980 - Present)
Full text access to thousands of news, business and legal publications. A good source for current articles in the New York Times and other major newspapers, and for looking up information about companies, industries and countries.
U.S. and international company financial data, annual reports, and information on executives and corporate subsidiaries.
Portal site for statistics, books, journals, and working papers of the Organization of Economic Cooperation and Development. For data sets, choose Statistics from the navigation bar at the top of the main page.
Penn World Table (1950 - 2007)
Download economic data for 189 countries from this site provided by the Center for International Comparisons at the University of Pennsylvania.
Polling the Nations (1986 - Present)
Public opinion survey results from U.S. and international news sources and polling organizations.
The data brother to its statistical sister, this product aggregates datasets from national governments along with macroeconomic datasets from international organizations and private research firms. The product contains data for all countries, and sub-national data for 60 countries.
Collection of statistical abstracts for approx. 40 countries, generally issued by national statistical offices of foreign governments. Resembles Statistical Abstract of the United States, but with international coverage.
ProQuest Statistical Insight (1974 - Present)
Finding aid for statistics published by governments, international organizations, and nongovernmental organizations.
RLIS LiveRequires password. See librarian for access.
RLIS (Regional Land Information System) data from Metro available online with username and password. See Joe Marquez for access.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research (1930 - Present)
Archive of public opinion survey data. See quick snapshots of public opinion or download data sets.
The first large-scale collection of methodological case studies, SAGE Research Methods Cases provides real-life examples of how research is actually conducted to help users grasp methods concepts that can often be theoretical or abstract.
Database of over 600 books, handbooks, and journal articles focusing on research design and methods in the social sciences.
Social Explorer (1790 - Present)
Social Explorer provides easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present.
Download data and create charts based on data sets from government, international organizations, and nongovernmental organizations.
Gateway to United Nations data sets on a wide range of subjects.
Download over 2,000 indicators from World Bank data sources. Includes World Development Indicators Online and Global Development Finance.
World Development Indicators Online (1962 - Present)
Country and regional data from World Bank. See World dataBank to download data.