Databases for Economics
For more Economics resources, try our subject guides.
- Data source
- Streaming music/media
- Image collection
- Primary source collection
- EndNote filter instructions, hold mouse over icon
Academic Search Premier (1965 - Present)
Multi-interdisciplinary database that provides indexing and abstracts for over 8,500 journals, with full text for many titles. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding full text articles for a variety of topics.
AGRICOLA (1970 - Present)
Index of materials relating to all aspects of agriculture, especially government and agency reports. Includes botany, entomology, forestry, natural resources, and plant diseases.
American FactFinder (1990 - Present)
Interactive data and mapping from the U.S. Census Bureau. Includes population, housing, and other social and economic data from the decennial census of population and housing, the economic census, and from annual surveys and estimates programs.
Article-length reviews of topics in the academic literature on law and the social sciences.
Indexes more than 50,000 critical titles in the social sciences and humanities from 2005 to present. Books are connected to the greater citation indexes for the sciences.
Academic and news articles on companies, business, and industries. Includes company profiles.
China Data Online (1982 - Present)
Official Chinese government statistics at city, county, provincial, and national levels.
Citation index of conference proceedings in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
CQ Weekly (1983 - Present)
Archive of weekly magazine on government and particularly congressional activity.
Discover research data from a wide range of international data repositories and connect them with the scientific & social sciences literature to track data citation.
EconLit (1969 - Present)
Academic journal articles, books, and working papers in economics.
Finding aid for statistical web sites and data series produced by more than 100 agencies of the federal government.
FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data) (1913 - Present)
Thousands of U.S. economic data time series available as text or Excel downloads.
The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available. Includes data on International Financial Statistics, Balance of Payment Statistics, Government Finance Statistics, and Direction of Trade Statistics.
International Financial Statistics (1945 - Present)
Select and download indicators from the International Monetary Fund.
Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) 1957-1994 (1957 - 1994)
JPRS is a government organization that supplies translations of unclassified foreign documents for government agencies. Documents include periodical articles, military reports, statistics, scholarly journal articles, and others.
JSTOR (1800 - Varies)
Full text complete archives of selected core scholarly journals in various disciplines. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images. Current issues of journals are generally not included.
LexisNexis Academic (1980 - Present)
Full text access to thousands of news, business and legal publications. A good source for current articles in the New York Times and other major newspapers, and for looking up information about companies, industries and countries.
Making of the Modern World (1450 - 1850)
Full text digital images of 61,000 works of literature on the economy and business from the Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature. Topics include commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade, and transport.
U.S. and international company financial data, annual reports, and information on executives and corporate subsidiaries.
Portal site for statistics, books, journals, and working papers of the Organization of Economic Cooperation and Development. For data sets, choose Statistics from the navigation bar at the top of the main page.
Penn World Table (1950 - 2007)
Download economic data for 189 countries from this site provided by the Center for International Comparisons at the University of Pennsylvania.
Collection of statistical abstracts for approx. 40 countries, generally issued by national statistical offices of foreign governments. Resembles Statistical Abstract of the United States, but with international coverage.
ProQuest Statistical Insight (1974 - Present)
Finding aid for statistics published by governments, international organizations, and nongovernmental organizations.
The first large-scale collection of methodological case studies, SAGE Research Methods Cases provides real-life examples of how research is actually conducted to help users grasp methods concepts that can often be theoretical or abstract.
Database of over 600 books, handbooks, and journal articles focusing on research design and methods in the social sciences.
Social Sciences Abstracts (1983 - Present)
Articles from major English language journals in the social sciences.
Social Sciences Citation Index (1898 - Present)
Abstracts and citation searching of articles from high-impact academic journals in the social sciences.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Download data and create charts based on data sets from government, international organizations, and nongovernmental organizations.
Gateway to United Nations data sets on a wide range of subjects.
WestlawNext provides access to U.S. and international law sources. Access includes: legal encyclopedias, cases, statutes and legislative materials, and law reviews. Off-campus access
Download over 2,000 indicators from World Bank data sources. Includes World Development Indicators Online and Global Development Finance.
World Development Indicators Online (1962 - Present)
Country and regional data from World Bank. See World dataBank to download data.