Databases for Gender
For more Gender resources, try our subject guides.
- Data source
- Streaming music/media
- Image collection
- Primary source collection
- EndNote filter instructions, hold mouse over icon
Academic Search Premier (1965 - Present)
Multi-interdisciplinary database that provides indexing and abstracts for over 8,500 journals, with full text for many titles. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding full text articles for a variety of topics.
Alternative Press Index (1991 - Present)
Useful for researching cultural, economic, political & social change. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (1905 - Present)
Indexes articles in academic journals and trade magazines in communications and mass media. Full text articles for many sources.
Citation index of conference proceedings in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Summaries and primary documents on world cultures, searchable by country or cultural characteristics and practices.
Feminae (1990 - Present)
Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. The index is not complete but is growing.
Gender Studies Database (1972 - Present)
Includes Women's Studies International, the primary research database for women's studies, and the Men's Studies database. Indexes "gender-engaged scholarship."
Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online (1543 - 1945)
The leading source for primary documents concerning women's history. Includes books, pamphlets, and periodicals having to do with the development of feminist thought and the women's rights movement.
Digitized alternative press publications, including small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, the minority press (Latino, Black and Native American) and the extreme right-wing press.
Millions of full-text, fully searchable pages of primary source material covering a wide range of topics. Includes books, pamphlets, essays, photographs, newspapers, letters, maps, sheet music and more.
Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online (1675 - Present)
Collection of primary source documents drawn from letters, diaries, and oral histories. This database pulls together content from: North American Women's Letters and Diaries, British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries, North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories, The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries, and Black Thought and Culture.
Sociological Abstracts (1952 - Present)
Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, books, reviews, and conference papers.
Women and Social Movements in the United States (1600 - 2000)
A digital archive of historical primary documents and reference material.
Women Writers Online (1400 - 1850)
A digital collection of texts by pre-Victorian women writers.