Databases for History
For more History resources, try our subject guides.
- Data source
- Streaming music/media
- Image collection
- Primary source collection
- EndNote filter instructions, hold mouse over icon
AATA Online - Abstracts of International Conservation Literature (1932 - Present)
A comprehensive database of abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage.
Academic Search Premier (1965 - Present)
Multi-interdisciplinary database that provides indexing and abstracts for over 8,500 journals, with full text for many titles. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding full text articles for a variety of topics.
Accessible Archives (including African American Newspapers) (1700s - 1800s)
Full text of a large number of 18th and 19th century American Newspapers including the African American Newspapers collection.
Digital collection of thousands of fully searchable, full text electronic books from scholarly publishers.
Alternative Press Index (1991 - Present)
Useful for researching cultural, economic, political & social change. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
America: History and Life (1964 - Present)
Indexes over 2,000 scholarly journals to find citations for appropriate articles on your topic in American or Canadian history, from prehistory to the present. Allows you to search by historical period. For other parts of the world, use Historical Abstracts.
Biographical info about 17,400 American men and women. Updated semi-annually.
American Periodicals (1740 - 1900)
Digitized page images from over 1000 American magazines from the 18th and 19th centuries.
Streaming audio, various genres of traditional American music. Included are songs of the civil rights movement, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, etc. Also available through Music Online.
American State Papers (1789 - 1838)
Legislative and executive documents, many originating from the important period between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817. Does not include House and Senate journals.
America's Historical Imprints (1639 - 1819)
Full digital access to the Early American Imprints Series I, II, and supplements. 36,000 titles on 17th and 18th century American life. Includes most books printed anywhere during that time period about America.
America's Historical Newspapers (includes access to the Oregonian and Early American Newspapers) (1690 - 1975)
Includes articles from early American newspapers. Searchable by presidential eras, eras in American history, place of publications, and newspaper titles. Includes full text of the Oregonian 1861-1971.
AP Images (1826 - Present)
AP Images contains contemporary and historical (to 1800s) news and culture photographs from Associated Press. Also available are audio files from the 1920s to the present, Associated Press news stories from 1997 on, and a collection of graphics (e.g., maps, charts/graphs, logos, illustrations).
ArchiveFinder (1959 - Present)
Directory of collections held in thousands of repositories of archival material in the US, UK, and Ireland. Formerly known as ArchivesUSA.
Topic-focused digital collections of historical documents.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - Present)
A multi-disciplinary index covering key journals in the arts and humanities. Available through Web of Science, which is particularly good for cited reference searching - a tool that allows you to find out who has cited a certain paper and follow the development of research on a specific topic.
ARTFL: A Textual Database (17th Century - 20th Century)
Consists of nearly 3,000 texts ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The 18th, 19th and 20th centuries are equally represented. Also included are historical dictionaries and the Diderot Encyclopédie.
ArticleFirst (1990 - Present)
Contains citations for articles from scholarly and trade publications in a number of subjects (humanities, social sciences, sciences, business, and medicine).
Interdisciplinary digital library of images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences
ATLA Religion (1949 - Present)
A comprehensive database that supports religious and theological scholarship. It includes citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, book reviews and Doctor of Ministry Projects.
Includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion as well as content from other electronic books and journals related to dress and fashion. Also includes images from V&A Museum's internationally renowned fashion collection and other sources.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971 - Present)
Multi-disciplinary index of western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters on all parts of Asia. Also available 1971-1985 in print (Ref DS5 .B53).
The Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present.
Bibliography of Native North Americans (16th Century - Present)
Books and journal literature on all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life.
Index of searchable, full text French and French-language digital libraries
Indexes more than 50,000 critical titles in the social sciences and humanities from 2005 to present. Books are connected to the greater citation indexes for the sciences.
British Periodicals I and II (1680s - 1930s)
A collection of searchable, digital facsimile pages from British journals. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.
Online access to the Cambridge Histories series. Over 200 titles in a variety of disciplines.
More than 140 newspapers from 22 islands. Most published in the English language.
China Data Online (1982 - Present)
Official Chinese government statistics at city, county, provincial, and national levels.
A survey of critical commentary on the work of specific authors and key texts. Also contains biographical information and bibliographies of primary and secondary works.
China Academic Journals is a comprehensive, full-text database of Chinese language journals throughout the world.
Citation index of conference proceedings in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Pierre Bayle’s (1647-1706) complete literary and philosophical works. Includes a critical corpus composed of essential studies published over the last ten years and a bibliography of all scholarly studies on Bayle between 1900 and 2006.
CQ Weekly (1983 - Present)
Archive of weekly magazine on government and particularly congressional activity.
Early American Newspapers (1690 - 1876)
Full digital access to many American newspapers. Covering American studies
Early English Books Online (EEBO) (1473 - 1700)
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) TCP (1473 - 1700)
The Text Creation Partnership is a project working to create standardized, digitally-encoded editions of early print books. The EEBO-TCP includes searchable text versions of much of the content in EEBO.
Summaries and primary documents on prehistoric cultures, searchable by region, country, and cultural characteristics.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (1701 - 1800)
A full text, searchable, digital facsimile collection of over 180,000 titles. Includes books, pamphlets, essays and more.
Eighteenth Century Journals I (1693 - 1799)
95 journals covering all aspects of 18th century social, political and literary life.
Collection of edited correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century.
English Short Title Catalog (1473 - 1800)
Indexes books and letterpress items printed before 1801 in the British Isles, Colonial America, the early United States of America, Canada, or territories governed by England as well as items published elsewhere in the world in English.
Feminae (1990 - Present)
Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. The index is not complete but is growing.
Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text (1914 - Present)
Provides indexing and abstracts for hundreds of publications, as well as full text for select journals and books. Includes over 36,300 images from the Motion Picture & Television image archive.
English translations of news releases and articles from most countries. For current content, see World News Connection.
Covers more than 450 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered.
Searchable, digital materials (books, journals, newspapers, printed music and more) from the collections of the BnF.
Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online (1543 - 1945)
The leading source for primary documents concerning women's history. Includes books, pamphlets, and periodicals having to do with the development of feminist thought and the women's rights movement.
Handbook of Latin American Studies (1936 - Present)
Published annually, this handbook is a selective bibliography of the most important articles in the field of Latin American Studies.
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodical Index) (1970 - Present)
Indexes journal articles, book reviews, documents, literary works about Central and South America throughout the world.
Historical Abstracts (1954 - Present)
Index, with abstracts, to research in world history (excluding North America) from 1450 through the 20th Century. For North American history use America: History and Life.
Historical Statistics of the United States (1700s - 1975)
The standard source for statistical information about American history.
Humanities Abstracts (1984 - Present)
An index of articles from key scholarly journals published from 1985 to present in North America and Europe. Covers humanities and social sciences.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907 - 1984)
An index of articles from key scholarly journals published prior to 1985 in North America and Europe. Covers humanities and the social sciences.
International Medieval Bibliography Online (300-1500) (1967 - Present)
Access to scholarly publications on all aspects of medieval studies.
Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance: Iter Bibliography (1784 - Present)
Provides subject access to selected materials pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400 - 1700).
The online edition Kristeller's Iter Italicum, a comprehensive finding list of previously uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued classical, medieval and Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world.
Primary source material and images that document the history of Jewish communities in America from the 17th century until the mid-20th century.
Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) 1957-1994 (1957 - 1994)
JPRS is a government organization that supplies translations of unclassified foreign documents for government agencies. Documents include periodical articles, military reports, statistics, scholarly journal articles, and others.
JSTOR (1800 - Varies)
Full text complete archives of selected core scholarly journals in various disciplines. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images. Current issues of journals are generally not included.
Full-text articles from Latin American newspapers covering the years 1805-1922, including titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, and Venezuela.
LexisNexis Academic (1980 - Present)
Full text access to thousands of news, business and legal publications. A good source for current articles in the New York Times and other major newspapers, and for looking up information about companies, industries and countries.
Includes a wide range of literary works of the American South published before 1924. Part of the Documenting the American South, a digital publishing initiative.
Digital archive of Russian newspaper, 1928+.
Making of the Modern World (1450 - 1850)
Full text digital images of 61,000 works of literature on the economy and business from the Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature. Topics include commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade, and transport.
Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers (1800 - 1900)
Contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain.
Millions of full-text, fully searchable pages of primary source material covering a wide range of topics. Includes books, pamphlets, essays, photographs, newspapers, letters, maps, sheet music and more.
Nineteenth Century Masterfile (1800 - 1925)
An index of indexes. Brings together over 60 subject indexing periodicals, newspapers, books, US congressional records, US and UK government documents, & US patents.
Provides access to the nation's documentary history. Provides information on the location of our nation's archival and manuscript collections.
Includes regularly updated bibliographies by leading experts.
Includes regularly updated bibliographies by leading experts.
Includes regularly updated bibliographies by leading experts.
Biographical information about around 60,000 men and women important to British history.
Contains hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Proquest Dissertations & Theses A&I (1816 - Present)
Contains citations for dissertations and theses published in Western countries since 1861; abstracts are included for publications from 1980-present.
Full text of historical newspapers, including the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Boston Globe. Also includes historical black newspapers including the Chicago Defender, the Los Angeles Sentinel, the New York Amsterdam News, and the Pittsburgh Courier. From the Basic Search page, choose 'Select multiple databases' to select a specific newspaper. Coverage varies but generally starts in the 1800s.
Includes full-text of twelve English-language Chinese historical newspapers from 1832 to 1953.
Search just the "Historical Black Newspapers" portion of the Proquest Historical Newspapers collection. This includes the Chicago Defender, the Los Angeles Sentinel, the New York Amsterdam News, and the Pittsburgh Courier.
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 (1500 - 1926)
Primary sources about the Americas published throughout the world. Includes books, pamphlets, serials, and other documents and provides original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and more.
The first large-scale collection of methodological case studies, SAGE Research Methods Cases provides real-life examples of how research is actually conducted to help users grasp methods concepts that can often be theoretical or abstract.
The very first newspaper in China with a Chinese editorial staff, the full-image and full-text Shen Bao Digital Archive gives unique insight into the transition of China from the nineteenth century until Mao. Chinese language only.
The Siku Quanshu (SKQS) is a compendium of 3,000 years of Chinese knowledge, including literature, history, medicine, science and technology, diplomacy, philosophy, linguistics and more. Library PCs have the SKQSclient.exe program installed. To install it on your own PC, click on the setup.exe download link on the home page.
Slavery and Antislavery (1700 - 1888)
Primary documents from several important archives. Includes material from books
Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online (1675 - Present)
Collection of primary source documents drawn from letters, diaries, and oral histories. This database pulls together content from: North American Women's Letters and Diaries, British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries, North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories, The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries, and Black Thought and Culture.
Social Explorer (1790 - Present)
Social Explorer provides easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present.
The SDA is a result of collaboration between the Russian State Archive of Social and Political History (RGASPI) and Yale University Press (YUP) to create an electronic database of finding aids, to digitize documents and images, and to publish in different forms and media materials from the recently declassified Stalin archive in the holdings of RGASPI.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817 - 1980)
Searchable collection of historical government publications.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive (1968 - Present)
Video clips from major television news networks, some as streaming video, but most must be ordered. Contact Dena for help in placing an order.
Victorian Popular Culture (1779 - 1930)
Covers popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe in the period from 1779 to 1930, including magic shows, vaudeville, and circuses.
Women and Social Movements in the United States (1600 - 2000)
A digital archive of historical primary documents and reference material.
The OCLC Online Union Catalog, containing over 50 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Includes books, journal and newspaper titles (but not reference to individual articles), sound recordings, musical scores, films, manuscripts, etc.