Databases for Music
For more Music resources, try our subject guides.
- Data source
- Streaming music/media
- Image collection
- Primary source collection
- EndNote filter instructions, hold mouse over icon
Academic Search Premier (1965 - Present)
Multi-interdisciplinary database that provides indexing and abstracts for over 8,500 journals, with full text for many titles. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding full text articles for a variety of topics.
Online access to materials from the archives of folklorist and ethnomusicologist Alan Lomax, including rare and unique sound recordings, videos, and photographs.
Streaming audio, various genres of traditional American music. Included are songs of the civil rights movement, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, etc. Also available through Music Online.
Indexes more than 50,000 critical titles in the social sciences and humanities from 2005 to present. Books are connected to the greater citation indexes for the sciences.
British Periodicals I and II (1680s - 1930s)
A collection of searchable, digital facsimile pages from British journals. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.
Online access to the Cambridge Histories series. Over 200 titles in a variety of disciplines.
Streaming audio, primarily classical music. Also available through Music Online.
Citation index of conference proceedings in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Streaming audio, genres such as reggae, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz. Also available through Music Online.
Streaming audio from New World Records and other labels, primarily contemporary American music.
Online access to complete runs of major trade publications in the film, entertainment, and music industries. Titles include Billboard, Variety, Spin, Back Stage, etc.
Fine Arts and Music Collection (1980 - Present)
Over 10 million full-text articles that support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Searchable, digital materials (books, journals, newspapers, printed music and more) from the collections of the BnF.
Comprehensive overview of musical traditions worldwide.
International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) (1784 - Present)
Citations and selected full text from music journals and other periodicals. Especially good for locating reviews, obituaries, articles from popular news sources (ex: Rolling Stone).
Streaming audio. Jazz performances covering a variety of styles and time periods, from labels such as Verve and Impulse! Records. Also available through Music Online.
JSTOR (1800 - Varies)
Full text complete archives of selected core scholarly journals in various disciplines. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images. Current issues of journals are generally not included.
LexisNexis Academic (1980 - Present)
Full text access to thousands of news, business and legal publications. A good source for current articles in the New York Times and other major newspapers, and for looking up information about companies, industries and countries.
Streaming video for prerecorded musical productions, plus access to 100 live performances per year.
Met Opera on Demand: Student Access offers users instant access to more than 475 full-length Met performances, including stunning HD videos from the Met’s award-winning Live in HD series of movie theater transmissions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, ‘80s, and ‘90s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1935.
Enables simultanous searching of the International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) and International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA).
Streaming audio in a variety of genres including classical, jazz, folk and world music. Music Online is the cross-searchable platform for all of Reed's current streaming audio subscriptions through Alexander Street Press.
Streaming audio. Primarily classical music, also world, folk, and other genres.
Streaming audio. Access over 3,800 jazz albums, from Naxos Jazz and the Fantasy Jazz labels.
Electronic access to 4 major music reference works: the Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, the Encyclopedia of Popular Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music.
Project MUSE (1958 - Present)
Full text access to over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images. A good source for current articles on a variety of subjects.
Full text of historical newspapers, including the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Boston Globe. Also includes historical black newspapers including the Chicago Defender, the Los Angeles Sentinel, the New York Amsterdam News, and the Pittsburgh Courier. From the Basic Search page, choose 'Select multiple databases' to select a specific newspaper. Coverage varies but generally starts in the 1800s.
RILM Abstracts (1967 - Present)
Citations for music literature: scholarly books, articles, essays, reviews, and dissertations.
Citations for music literature: scholarly books, articles, essays, reviews, and dissertations. Indexes content published before 1967.
RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (1800 - 1950)
International index to music periodicals, primarily from the nineteenth-century.
Streaming audio from Smithsonian Folkways Recordings and other labels, primarily traditional world music. Also available through Music Online.
The OCLC Online Union Catalog, containing over 50 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Includes books, journal and newspaper titles (but not reference to individual articles), sound recordings, musical scores, films, manuscripts, etc.