Databases for News
For more News resources, try our subject guides.
- Data source
- Streaming music/media
- Image collection
- Primary source collection
- EndNote filter instructions, hold mouse over icon
Academic Search Premier (1965 - Present)
Multi-interdisciplinary database that provides indexing and abstracts for over 8,500 journals, with full text for many titles. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding full text articles for a variety of topics.
Access World News (1985 - present)
Full-text articles from over 2,600 U.S. and international newpapers, including the Oregonian and other regional papers. Includes Selected wire services, radio and television transcripts.
Alternative Press Index (1991 - Present)
Useful for researching cultural, economic, political & social change. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
AP Images (1826 - Present)
AP Images contains contemporary and historical (to 1800s) news and culture photographs from Associated Press. Also available are audio files from the 1920s to the present, Associated Press news stories from 1997 on, and a collection of graphics (e.g., maps, charts/graphs, logos, illustrations).
More than 140 newspapers from 22 islands. Most published in the English language.
CQ Weekly (1983 - Present)
Archive of weekly magazine on government and particularly congressional activity.
The Oregon Digital Newspaper Program (ODNP) is an initiative to digitize historic Oregon newspaper content and make it freely available to the public through a keyword-searchable online database. The initial phase of the program will concentrate on newspapers published between 1860 and 1922, with a goal of approximately 150,000 pages freely available online in the first two years (2009-2011)
Current legal news stories, both domestic and international.
Full-text articles from Latin American newspapers covering the years 1805-1922, including titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, and Venezuela.
LexisNexis Academic (1980 - Present)
Full text access to thousands of news, business and legal publications. A good source for current articles in the New York Times and other major newspapers, and for looking up information about companies, industries and countries.
Digital archive of Russian newspaper, 1928+.
National Journal Policy Central (1977 - Present)
News and opinion on government and political activities in Washington.
Full text of historical newspapers, including the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Boston Globe. Also includes historical black newspapers including the Chicago Defender, the Los Angeles Sentinel, the New York Amsterdam News, and the Pittsburgh Courier. From the Basic Search page, choose 'Select multiple databases' to select a specific newspaper. Coverage varies but generally starts in the 1800s.
The very first newspaper in China with a Chinese editorial staff, the full-image and full-text Shen Bao Digital Archive gives unique insight into the transition of China from the nineteenth century until Mao. Chinese language only.
Provides access to the Sunday Times from its launch in 1822 until 2006. It contains more than 600,000 pages including advertisements, obituaries, classified ads and photographs as well as the articles. Early issues contain colourful information on murders, mysteries, theatre, sport and politics. Please note: The Sunday Times is a separate paper from The Times. Reed also provides access to The Times Digital Archive.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive (1968 - Present)
Video clips from major television news networks, some as streaming video, but most must be ordered. Contact Dena for help in placing an order.