Databases for Philosophy
For more Philosophy resources, try our subject guides.
- Data source
- Streaming music/media
- Image collection
- Primary source collection
- EndNote filter instructions, hold mouse over icon
Academic Search Premier (1965 - Present)
Multi-interdisciplinary database that provides indexing and abstracts for over 8,500 journals, with full text for many titles. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding full text articles for a variety of topics.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - Present)
A multi-disciplinary index covering key journals in the arts and humanities. Available through Web of Science, which is particularly good for cited reference searching - a tool that allows you to find out who has cited a certain paper and follow the development of research on a specific topic.
ATLA Religion (1949 - Present)
A comprehensive database that supports religious and theological scholarship. It includes citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, book reviews and Doctor of Ministry Projects.
Indexes more than 50,000 critical titles in the social sciences and humanities from 2005 to present. Books are connected to the greater citation indexes for the sciences.
Online access to the Cambridge Histories series. Over 200 titles in a variety of disciplines.
China Academic Journals is a comprehensive, full-text database of Chinese language journals throughout the world.
Citation index of conference proceedings in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Pierre Bayle’s (1647-1706) complete literary and philosophical works. Includes a critical corpus composed of essential studies published over the last ten years and a bibliography of all scholarly studies on Bayle between 1900 and 2006.
Provides a comprehensive and interdisciplinary survey of the art of persuasion.
Humanities Abstracts (1984 - Present)
An index of articles from key scholarly journals published from 1985 to present in North America and Europe. Covers humanities and social sciences.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907 - 1984)
An index of articles from key scholarly journals published prior to 1985 in North America and Europe. Covers humanities and the social sciences.
The International Encyclopedia of Ethics is a comprehensive resource covering major philosophical and religious traditions, topics, movements, arguments, and figures in Normative Ethics, Metaethics, and Practical Ethics.
JSTOR (1800 - Varies)
Full text complete archives of selected core scholarly journals in various disciplines. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images. Current issues of journals are generally not included.
L'Annee Philologique (1949 - Present)
The most comprehensive international index to research in classics. L'Annee indexes modern editions of ancient texts, journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews. Present coverage reflects 2-3 years lag time. (For older coverage from 1914-1949, see Ref PA3001 .A56).
Periodicals Index Online (1665 - 1995)
An international, multi-disciplinary index to articles in more than 4,600 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. (Formerly called PCI -Periodicals Contents Index.)
Philosopher's Index (1940 - Present)
Indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields published throughout the Western World.
PhilPapers is a community-maintained, comprehensive index and bibliography of research content in philosophy.