Databases for Political Science
For more Political Science resources, try our subject guides.
- Data source
- Streaming music/media
- Image collection
- Primary source collection
- EndNote filter instructions, hold mouse over icon
Academic Search Premier (1965 - Present)
Multi-interdisciplinary database that provides indexing and abstracts for over 8,500 journals, with full text for many titles. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding full text articles for a variety of topics.
America: History and Life (1964 - Present)
Indexes over 2,000 scholarly journals to find citations for appropriate articles on your topic in American or Canadian history, from prehistory to the present. Allows you to search by historical period. For other parts of the world, use Historical Abstracts.
American FactFinder (1990 - Present)
Interactive data and mapping from the U.S. Census Bureau. Includes population, housing, and other social and economic data from the decennial census of population and housing, the economic census, and from annual surveys and estimates programs.
Article-length reviews of topics in the academic literature on law and the social sciences.
Annual Review of Political Science (1998 - Present)
Article-length reviews of topics in the academic literature in political science.
Topic-focused digital collections of historical documents.
Indexes more than 50,000 critical titles in the social sciences and humanities from 2005 to present. Books are connected to the greater citation indexes for the sciences.
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online (1991 - Present)
Books, articles, working papers, and case studies on international affairs from Columbia University Press.
Citation index of conference proceedings in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Voting and Elections Collection integrates a wealth of data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material to provide a powerful research and reference tool on the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships.
CQ Weekly (1983 - Present)
Archive of weekly magazine on government and particularly congressional activity.
CNTS Data Archive is a longitudinal dataset of over 200 variables, some going back to 1815, covering over 200 countries. Initially a project to collect the data from the Statesman's Yearbook into a format suitable for quantitative analysis, CNTS continues to grow with new data. Variables cover such topics as government expenditure, trade, infrastructure and media, domestic conflict event data, elections, legislative process, numerous political measures and international status indicators.
Discover research data from a wide range of international data repositories and connect them with the scientific & social sciences literature to track data citation.
Summaries and primary documents on world cultures, searchable by country or cultural characteristics and practices.
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection (1980 - Present)
Environmentally-related coverage from more than 700 journals and reference content from Delmar, Cengage Learning.
Very current legal news headlines and blogs. Includes browse by legal topics feature.
English translations of news releases and articles from most countries. For current content, see World News Connection.
HeinOnline is a research product with more than 100 million pages of legal history and law journals available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format.
Historical Abstracts (1954 - Present)
Index, with abstracts, to research in world history (excluding North America) from 1450 through the 20th Century. For North American history use America: History and Life.
Provides full-text access to the 20th century House of Commons Parliamentary Papers. The Parliamentary papers influenced public opinion and social and political philosophy, and provided a forum for ideas for hundreds of thinkers. They are the working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how issues were explored and legislation was formed.
Data archive for social scientists. Reed community members may download data and documentation. Proficiency in a statistical program such as STATA, SPSS, or SAS is needed to use these data sets.
Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) 1957-1994 (1957 - 1994)
JPRS is a government organization that supplies translations of unclassified foreign documents for government agencies. Documents include periodical articles, military reports, statistics, scholarly journal articles, and others.
JSTOR (1800 - Varies)
Full text complete archives of selected core scholarly journals in various disciplines. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images. Current issues of journals are generally not included.
Current legal news stories, both domestic and international.
Full-text articles from Latin American newspapers covering the years 1805-1922, including titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, and Venezuela.
Legal Collection (1965 - Present)
Citations and some full text articles from about 250 law reviews.
LexisNexis Academic (1980 - Present)
Full text access to thousands of news, business and legal publications. A good source for current articles in the New York Times and other major newspapers, and for looking up information about companies, industries and countries.
Bills, statutes, and regulations from U.S. state governments.
National Journal Policy Central (1977 - Present)
News and opinion on government and political activities in Washington.
Millions of full-text, fully searchable pages of primary source material covering a wide range of topics. Includes books, pamphlets, essays, photographs, newspapers, letters, maps, sheet music and more.
PAIS International (1915 - Present)
Abstracts of journal articles, books, and government documents relating to the study of politics and public affairs.
Philosopher's Index (1940 - Present)
Indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields published throughout the Western World.
Polling the Nations (1986 - Present)
Public opinion survey results from U.S. and international news sources and polling organizations.
ProQuest Congressional (1789 - Present)
Congressional documents, including bills, statues, hearings, reports, and legislative histories.
The Congressional Hearings Digital Collection, or CHDC, is a collection of published and unpublished hearings held by Congress.
Collection of statistical abstracts for approx. 40 countries, generally issued by national statistical offices of foreign governments. Resembles Statistical Abstract of the United States, but with international coverage.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research (1930 - Present)
Archive of public opinion survey data. See quick snapshots of public opinion or download data sets.
The first large-scale collection of methodological case studies, SAGE Research Methods Cases provides real-life examples of how research is actually conducted to help users grasp methods concepts that can often be theoretical or abstract.
Database of over 600 books, handbooks, and journal articles focusing on research design and methods in the social sciences.
The very first newspaper in China with a Chinese editorial staff, the full-image and full-text Shen Bao Digital Archive gives unique insight into the transition of China from the nineteenth century until Mao. Chinese language only.
Social Sciences Abstracts (1983 - Present)
Articles from major English language journals in the social sciences.
Social Sciences Citation Index (1898 - Present)
Abstracts and citation searching of articles from high-impact academic journals in the social sciences.
Contains a selection of documents that covers Stalin's personal biography, his work in government, and his conduct of foreign affairs.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Gateway to United Nations data sets on a wide range of subjects.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817 - 1980)
Searchable collection of historical government publications.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive (1968 - Present)
Video clips from major television news networks, some as streaming video, but most must be ordered. Contact Dena for help in placing an order.
WestlawNext provides access to U.S. and international law sources. Access includes: legal encyclopedias, cases, statutes and legislative materials, and law reviews. Off-campus access
World News Connection (1996 - 2013)
English translations of news releases and articles from most countries. For earlier content see Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975 - Present)
Abstracts of journal articles, books, and conference proceedings in political science.