Databases for Religion
For more Religion resources, try our subject guides.
- Data source
- Streaming music/media
- Image collection
- Primary source collection
- EndNote filter instructions, hold mouse over icon
Digital collection of thousands of fully searchable, full text electronic books from scholarly publishers.
Acta Sanctorum (1643 - 1940)
A collection of documents (primarily in Latin, some in Greek) on the lives of Christian saints. The database contains the text of the sixty-eight printed volumes of Acta Sanctorum published from 1643 to 1940 by the Société des Bollandistes. Can be cross searched with the Patrologia Latina database.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - Present)
A multi-disciplinary index covering key journals in the arts and humanities. Available through Web of Science, which is particularly good for cited reference searching - a tool that allows you to find out who has cited a certain paper and follow the development of research on a specific topic.
ATLA Religion (1949 - Present)
A comprehensive database that supports religious and theological scholarship. It includes citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, book reviews and Doctor of Ministry Projects.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971 - Present)
Multi-disciplinary index of western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters on all parts of Asia. Also available 1971-1985 in print (Ref DS5 .B53).
Indexes more than 50,000 critical titles in the social sciences and humanities from 2005 to present. Books are connected to the greater citation indexes for the sciences.
Online access to the Cambridge Histories series. Over 200 titles in a variety of disciplines.
Citation index of conference proceedings in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Pierre Bayle’s (1647-1706) complete literary and philosophical works. Includes a critical corpus composed of essential studies published over the last ten years and a bibliography of all scholarly studies on Bayle between 1900 and 2006.
Essay and General Literature Index (1985 - Present)
An index of essays and articles drawn from collections and anthologies published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. Covers arts, humanities and social sciences.
Humanities Abstracts (1984 - Present)
An index of articles from key scholarly journals published from 1985 to present in North America and Europe. Covers humanities and social sciences.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907 - 1984)
An index of articles from key scholarly journals published prior to 1985 in North America and Europe. Covers humanities and the social sciences.
Index Islamicus (1906 - Present)
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world. Updated annually.
Archive of medieval Christian art with specialized resources for the iconographer.
A comprehensive database representing religious scholarship across various languages and disciplines. Articles are classified into three large sections: method and theory, religions in context by area, and textual and conceptual traditions.
The International Encyclopedia of Ethics is a comprehensive resource covering major philosophical and religious traditions, topics, movements, arguments, and figures in Normative Ethics, Metaethics, and Practical Ethics.
Primary source material and images that document the history of Jewish communities in America from the 17th century until the mid-20th century. Off-campus access
JSTOR (1800 - Varies)
Full text complete archives of selected core scholarly journals in various disciplines. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images. Current issues of journals are generally not included.
New Testament Abstracts (1985 - Present)
Indexes scholarship related to the study of the New Testament as well as related topics in archaeology, history, and philology.
Old Testament Abstracts (1978 - Present)
Indexes scholarship related to the study of the Old Testament as well as related topics in archaeology, history, and philology.
An electronic version of the Patrologia Latina published between 1844 and 1865. Includes the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian (200 AD) to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.
Periodicals Index Online (1665 - 1995)
An international, multi-disciplinary index to articles in more than 4,600 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. (Formerly called PCI -Periodicals Contents Index.)
Philosopher's Index (1940 - Present)
Indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields published throughout the Western World.
Project MUSE (1958 - Present)
Full text access to over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images. A good source for current articles on a variety of subjects.
Religion & Philosophy Collection (Ebsco) (1975 - Present)
Full text database covering journals on world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, as well as philosophical studies.