Databases for Theatre
For more Theatre resources, try our subject guides.
- Data source
- Streaming music/media
- Image collection
- Primary source collection
- EndNote filter instructions, hold mouse over icon
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - Present)
A multi-disciplinary index covering key journals in the arts and humanities. Available through Web of Science, which is particularly good for cited reference searching - a tool that allows you to find out who has cited a certain paper and follow the development of research on a specific topic.
ArtSEARCHLogin required. See a librarian for access.
Access current job postings relating to theatre and the arts.
Includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion as well as content from other electronic books and journals related to dress and fashion. Also includes images from V&A Museum's internationally renowned fashion collection and other sources.
Indexes more than 50,000 critical titles in the social sciences and humanities from 2005 to present. Books are connected to the greater citation indexes for the sciences.
Online access to the Cambridge Histories series. Over 200 titles in a variety of disciplines.
Citation index of conference proceedings in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Online access to dramatic texts from a wide variety of playwrights, selected critical texts, and production stills.
Online access to complete runs of major trade publications in the film, entertainment, and music industries. Titles include Billboard, Variety, Spin, Back Stage, etc.
Essay and General Literature Index (1985 - Present)
An index of essays and articles drawn from collections and anthologies published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. Covers arts, humanities and social sciences.
Fine Arts and Music Collection (1980 - Present)
Over 10 million full-text articles that support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Humanities Abstracts (1984 - Present)
An index of articles from key scholarly journals published from 1985 to present in North America and Europe. Covers humanities and social sciences.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907 - 1984)
An index of articles from key scholarly journals published prior to 1985 in North America and Europe. Covers humanities and the social sciences.
Indexing for books, journal articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, production documents, etc., relating to theatre and dance. Selected full text.
International Index to the Performing Arts (1864 - Present)
Citations and selected full text for journal articles and other periodicals relating to dance, theatre, music, film, and performance art.
JSTOR (1800 - Varies)
Full text complete archives of selected core scholarly journals in various disciplines. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images. Current issues of journals are generally not included.
LexisNexis Academic (1980 - Present)
Full text access to thousands of news, business and legal publications. A good source for current articles in the New York Times and other major newspapers, and for looking up information about companies, industries and countries.
Streaming video for prerecorded musical productions, plus access to 100 live performances per year.
MLA Bibliography (1921 - Present)
The major index of literary, linguistic and folklore scholarship. Covers all languages and literatures except classical Greek and Latin.
Enables simultanous searching of the International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) and International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA).
Millions of full-text, fully searchable pages of primary source material covering a wide range of topics. Includes books, pamphlets, essays, photographs, newspapers, letters, maps, sheet music and more.
Online access to full-length performances from On the Boards, a Seattle-based center for contemporary performance.
Shakespeare's plays with scholarly annotations that interpret and explain the text.
Play Index (1949 - Present)
Indexes plays published alone or in anthologies according to topic, genre, cast, etc.
Project MUSE (1958 - Present)
Full text access to over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images. A good source for current articles on a variety of subjects.
Full text of historical newspapers, including the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Boston Globe. Also includes historical black newspapers including the Chicago Defender, the Los Angeles Sentinel, the New York Amsterdam News, and the Pittsburgh Courier. From the Basic Search page, choose 'Select multiple databases' to select a specific newspaper. Coverage varies but generally starts in the 1800s.
Online access to audio-visual materials from past and present practitioners of performance, including interviews, masterclasses, productions, and documentaries. Spans more than fifty years of documented work direct from renowned practitioners and specialists, and ranges across the entire spectrum of theatre topics.
Shakespeare Survey Online (1948 - Present)
Annual anthology of international scholarship relating to Shakespeare studies and production. Full text access; also available through Cambridge Collections Online.
Searchable full text resource for Spanish Golden Age theatre works (1500-1700).
Contains the full text of 2,500 twentieth-century plays in English from around the world.
The OCLC Online Union Catalog, containing over 50 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Includes books, journal and newspaper titles (but not reference to individual articles), sound recordings, musical scores, films, manuscripts, etc.