Resource Guide for Chinese Language
Contact:
Jennie McKee
,
Access Services Librarian
A Brief History of Chinese Romanization
Searching for and using materials written in a non-Roman alphabet
or ideographs presents special challenges for library users. Chinese
can be more challenging than most. Until two years ago the Library of Congress, who sets
the standard for libraries in the United States, used the Wade-Giles
transliteration system. This system, developed by Sir Thomas Francis
Wade in the mid-nineteenth century and modified by Herbert Allen Giles
in 1912, remained the world standard for most of the 20th century. The
Wade-Giles system was based on pronunciation from nonstandard speech
sounds and contains symbols that represent different sounds and
sometimes different symbols for the same sound. Pinyin, the Chinese Phonetic Alphabet based on the
pronunciation of Mandarin Chinese, was created by the Committee on
Language Reform in China in 1956 and further modified in 1958. In 1979
the State Council of the People's Republic of China for Romanization
prescribed that Pinyin would be used for all translated publications
for English speaking countries.
Return to Top
Problems in the Library
You can encounter several problems in searching for Chinese names
and titles in the catalog and in databases. There are several reasons
why the records for the items may still use Wade-Giles instead of
Pinyin romanization:
Return to Top
Dictionaries: Chinese-English
Han Ying Ci Dian = A Chinese-English Dictionary
Zui Xin Shi Yong Han Ying Ci Dian / A New Practical Chinese-English Dictionary
ABC Chinese-English Dictionary: Alphabetically Based Computerized
Han Ying Cheng Yu Shou Ce = A Chinese-English Handbook of Idioms
Read Chinese Signs =Zhong Wen Lu Biao Yu Zhao Pai De Ren Shi
A Chinese-English Dictionary
Ref. PL1455 .H362 1995
Arranged by Pinyin romanization and sub-arranged by tone. Has three indexes to find entries in the dictionary:
(1) Syllables of Pinyin romanization with range of pages for that
syllable. Shows the glyphs for words beginning with that syllable
sub-arranged by tone.
(2) Syllables of the Wade romaization with Pinyin equivalent and page.
(3) Radical index.
Ref PL1455 .L693 1989
Arranged by radical and stroke number order. Taiwan. Uses Wade-Giles romanization.
Ref PL1455 .A24 1996
Arranged alphabetically by Pinyin syllable. Shows tonal markings and ideographs along with English definition.
Ref PL1497 .Y52 1987
4000 common Chinese idioms arranged alphabetically by Pinyin syllable and subarranged by tone level.
Ref PL1489 .K78 1993
A fun resource with photographs of signs in Chinese arranged by broad
topical areas with the Pinyan romanization complete with tonal markings
and their English meaning. The unfortunate aspect of the book is that
the information is on the back of the page with the photo rather than
directly across from the photo.
Ref PL1455 .G62 1964
This dictionary uses the traditional rather than the simplified
ideographs. Has a radical index in the front but arranged
alphabetically by Wade-Giles syllable.
Return to Top
Dictionaries: English-Chinese
Far East English-Chinese Dictionary = Yuan Dong Ying Han Da T'zu Dian
Niujin Gao Jie Ying Han Shuang Jie Ci Dian = Oxford Advanced Learner's English-Chinese Dictionary
Ref PL1455 .F37 1975
Ref PL1455 .O93 1999
Return to Top
Dictionaries: Chinese
The library has some good multi-volume Chinese dictionaries.
Han Yu Da Ci Dian
Han Yu Da Zi Dian
Ref PL1420 .H349 1986
Ref PL1455 .H36 1986
Return to Top
Websites
Library of Congress Pinyin Conversion Project
New Chinese Romanization Guidelines
Has a table of Wade-Giles to Pinyan correspondence.
What Is The Difference Between Wade-Giles and Pinyin?
Chinese Cultural Studies: Pinyin/Wade-Giles Names
A list of names familiar in their Wade-Giles form and their Pinyin form.
Return to Top
