Research Guide for Dance

Contact: Jack Levine , Acquisitions Librarian

Getting Started

There are many handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias that describe dance terms, plots, performers, etc. If you are not clear about your topic, try establishing its limits with a good definition from a dictionary and some introductory information from an encyclopedia. The following sources can give you a quick overview of a topic:


Return to Top

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

The Dance Encyclopedia
Ref GV1585 .C5 1967
Long signed articles and short treatments of terms and types.

The Dance Handbook
Ref GV1601 .R63 1990
Arranged by historical periods, an index by works, choreographers, and companies.

The Simon and Schuster Book of the Ballet
Ref GV1787 .B275313 1980
Biographies, works, companies, and some terms. Excludes modern dance and twentieth-century ballet.


Return to Top

Dictionaries

International Dictionary of Ballet
Ref GV1585 .I57 1993
Includes worklists for performers and choreographers; excludes modern dance except for a few notable choreographers; includes bibliography.

Biographical Dictionary of Dance
Ref GV1785 .A1 C58 1982
Emphasizes works choreographed and roles danced; includes some impresarios and composers.

Dance Words
GV1585 .P74 1995
Listing of terms by broad subject division.


Return to Top

Histories, Including Video

Il Ballarino: The Art of Renaissance Dance (video)
IMC GV1655 .B34 1991 video
Lecture-demonstration on Renaissance dance steps and dances, followed by performance of representative dances.

Dancing (8-part video series)
IMC GV1600 .D36 1993 video
Interviews and examples of both historical and international styles.

Early Dance (2-part video series)
IMC GV1611 .E37 1995 video
History of dance traced from Greek comedies to the Baroque; historical photos and sources with reconstructed modern performances.

Le Gratie d'Amore (video)
IMC GV1747 .G73 1992 video
Demonstrations of European court dances of the late 1500's, based on original descriptions.

Historical Dance (6-part video series)
IMC GV1743 .B4 H5 1995 video
Historical introduction to each period, basic positions, exercises, and choreographic examples.

Introduction to Baroque Dance (2-part video series)
IMC GV1618 .I6 1999 video
IMC GV1618.I6 2005 DVD
The best presentation of social dances and their antecedents.

Schwartz, French Court Dance and Dance Music
Ref GV1649 .S39 1987
Lists original sources along with modern reprints and translations. Divided by broad subject.


Return to Top

Guides to the Literature

A Core Collection in Dance
Ref GV1594 .C67 2001
A listing of "essential published literature" (including video) in dance.

Research in Dance: A Guide to Resources
Ref GV1694 .B6R4 1994
Guide to dance archives, research sources, associations, periodicals, etc.


Return to Top

Databases

Reed community only. Off campus access is available.

Indexes allow you to search the contents of periodicals to identify articles on your topic. Some indexes are interdisciplinary, and some focus on a particular subject area. Some indexes contain fulltext or links to fulltext from other sources. Usually, after you find a citation for an article, you will need to check the journal title list to see if Reed subscribes to the journal and if we have the particular issue. If the article is not available at Reed, you may request it through Interlibrary Loan. For help using the journal title list, or finding journals in general, try How Do I Find Journal Articles?.

Dance on Disc (Networked CD, available on Windows machines in the library)
Index to articles, reviews, etc. compiled by the New York Public Library’s Performing Arts Library.

Humanities Abstracts (1984 - present) and Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907 - 1984)
Indexes over 460 core publications in the humanities.

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance
Includes access to over 100 journals, books, and reference sources. Includes fulltext.

International Index to the Performing Arts (1864 - present)
Indexing for over 160 international periodicals and newspapers on dance, theatre, music, film, and performance art. Abstracts are included for entries after 1997.

JSTOR (Coverage varies)
Searchable electronic archive of the fulltext of journals in many subject areas.

Lexis-Nexis Academic
Use this for access to current reviews in the New York Times, as well as other major newspapers.

Music & Performing Arts Portal
Brings together the International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) and the International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA) together in one site. Search both resources simultaneously to find articles on music, theatre, dance, television, film, and other performing arts.

Project Muse (1993 - present)
Searchable electronic archive of the fulltext of hundreds of journals in many subjects, including dance.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Use this database for access to reviews in historical newspapers, including the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Boston Globe, among others. Coverage varies by title.

RILM Abstracts (1967 - present)
Citations of scholarly books, articles, essays, reviews, and dissertations. Two years behind in indexing.

WorldCat
The OCLC Online Union Catalog; over 24 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Includes books, journal and newspaper titles (but not references to individual articles), sound recordings, musical scores, films, manuscripts, etc. published in any year since about 1000. Includes Interlibrary loan button for easy borrowing from other libraries.


Return to Top