Research Guide for French Literature
Contact:
Jack Levine
,
Acquisitions Librarian
Getting Started
General
Dictionnaire Universel des Littératures
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
European Writers
Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century
New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
Ref PN41 .D489 1994
A multi-volume work covering world literature.
Ref PN81 .J554 2005
A guide to the intellectual traditions of literary theory. It includes
articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical
schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of
specific countries and historical periods.
Ref PN501 .E9 1983
Essays on author’s life, times, and works. Includes bibliographies.
Ref PN771 .E5 1999
Biographical and critical articles that include bibliographical references of works by and about authors.
Ref PN1021 .N39 1993
"Provides surveys of 106 national poetries; descriptions of poetic
forms and genres...detailed explanations of the devices of prosody and
rhetoric; and overviews of all major schools of poetry ancient and
modern, Western and Eastern...provides balanced and comprehensive
accounts of the major movements and issues in criticism and literary
theory."
French Literature
Dictionnaire des Littératures de Langue Française
Dictionnaire des Œuvres Littéraires de Langue Française
Dictionary of Modern French Literature: From the Age of Reason Through Realism
Guide to French Literature
The New Oxford Companion to Literature in French
The Feminist Encyclopedia of French Literature
French Women Writers: A Bio-bibliographical Source Book
The Lyrics of the Trouvéres: A Research Guide (1970 - 1990)
Guide to French Poetry Explication
Many French authors are covered in various volumes of the Dictionary of Literary Biography
(DLB) series. The DLB volumes contain biographical/bibliographical
essays for the authors covered. Several titles are listed below; check
the Library catalog for a complete listing.
Seventeenth Century French Writers
Nineteenth Century French Fiction Writers: Romanticism and Realism, 1800 - 1860
French Novelists, 1900 - 1930
Ref PQ41 .B4 1994
A comprehensive dictionary containing articles on authors, terms, and
themes from the medieval period to the present. Especially strong on
author biographies.
Ref PQ41 .B42 1994
A comprehensive dictionary of the works of French literature listed by title of work.
Ref PQ41 .D65 1986
Entries provide an introduction to major writers, works, and literary
movements. Includes a chronology of history and literature in two
parallel columns. Covers the period from 1715 to 1880.
Ref PQ41 .L48 1992
Contains long essays on authors, places, works, and literary movements.
Ref PQ41 .N48 1995
Brief entries on authors, works, and several extended essays on literary topics.
Ref PQ149 .F47 1999
An encyclopedia about women writers and the world in which they lived
from the Middle Ages to the Twentieth century. Articles on women who
worked mainly in France are complemented by essays on literary,
historical and sociological subjects. Appendices include a general
bibliography and chronology of women writers.
Ref PQ149 .F73 1991
Bibliography of primary and secondary works covering 51 of France's
most important women writers. An additional chapter covers women
troubadours of the 12th and 13th centuries.
Ref PQ199 .D67 1994
The trouvéres were poet composers whose lyrics were performed for
courtly audiences and at popular festivities in northern France. This
work covers their production from their beginnings to 1350. Contains
references to materials published on the trouvéres between 1970 to 1990
arranged by subject, form and genre, and author.
Ref PQ401 .C65 1993
A selective bibliography of criticism published from 1960 - 1990 on
French poetry of all periods. Includes books and journal articles in
French and in English.
Ref PQ241 .S48 2002
Ref PQ655 .N56 1992
Ref PQ671 .F67 1988
Return to Top
Locating Books
If you fail to find books on your topic in the Reed catalog, try searching in the Summit
catalog. The Summit catalog contains the books owned by over 25
academic libraries in Oregon and Washington. Click on "Search in
Summit" and the system will automatically perform your search in the
Summit catalog. If you find a title you want you can request it by
clicking the "Request this item" link and following the prompts.
WorldCat
An online catalog, containing over 50 million records for items owned
by Reed and libraries worldwide. Use WorldCat to find books, journal
and newspaper titles, sound recordings, musical scores, films and
manuscripts. WorldCat cannot be used to find individual journal
articles.
Return to Top
Finding Journal Articles and Critical Essays
Reed community only. Off campus access is available.
Indexes (sometimes called databases) allow you to search the contents
of periodicals to identify articles on your topic. Some indexes are
inter-disciplinary, and some focus on a particular subject area. Some
contain fulltext or links to fulltext from other sources. Many include
citations for books, dissertations, and conference papers as well as
journal articles.
After you find a citation for an article, you will need to check the Print & Electronic Journal page to see if Reed subscribes to the journal and if we have the particular issue.
If the article you are looking for is not available at Reed, you can
request it from Interlibrary loan (periodicals cannot be borrowed from
Summit).
General
Academic Search Premier (1975 - present)
Web of Science (Arts & Humanities Citation Index) (1975 - present)
Humanities Abstracts (1984 - present) and Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907 - 1984)
International Medieval Bibliography Online
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
JSTOR
MLA (1921 - present)
Periodicals Index Online (1665 - varies by title)
A multi-disciplinary database containing fulltext for more than 4,600
scholarly publications. In addition to the fulltext, the database
offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,000 journals.
Multi-disciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.
An author and subject index to more than 300 English language periodicals. Available in print as Humanities Index (Ref AI3 .H8) from 1974-2000.
Access to scholarly publications from 1967 to 2002 on all aspects of medieval studies.
Provides subject access to selected materials pertaining to the Middle
Ages and Renaissance (400 - 1700) published since 1990.
This electronic archive of essential academic journals includes several major journals from the field of French literary studies.
Index of literary, linguistic and folklore scholarship. MLA covers all
languages and all literatures except classical Greek and Latin.
Formerly PCI - Periodicals Contents Index.
An index to millions of articles in more than 4,600 scholarly journals
in the humanities and social sciences. International in scope, PCI
covers journals going back over 300 years.
French Literature
A Critical Bibliography of French Literature (1947 -)
Bibliographie der Französischen Literaturwissenschaft
French VI Bibliography: Critical and Biographical References for the Study of Nineteenth Century French Literature (1954 - 1965)
French VII Bibliography: Critical and Biographical References for the Study of Contemporary French Literature
French XX Bibliography (1969 -)
Ref PQ226 .C75 1947
An important, selective, annotated bibliography arranged in several
volumes in chronological order by time period. Lists books,
dissertations and articles.
PQ230 .B52
Lists periodical articles and articles in collections. Material is
presented chronologically from the Middle Ages to the present and
indexed by name and by subject. Library has 1956 - 1991.
Ref PQ305 .F73
Bibliography of books and journal articles.
Ref PQ305 .F74
Bibliography of books and journal articles. Continued by French XX Bibliography.
Ref PQ305 .F75
Continues French VII Bibliography. Bibliography of books and journal articles for the study of French literature since 1885.
Return to Top
Internet Resources
ARTFL: A Textual Database
Gallica: Digital Library of the Bibliotheque Nationale de France
Voice of the Shuttle
Consists of nearly 2,000 texts ranging from classic works of French
literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing.
The 18th, 19th and 20th centuries are represented nearly equally, with
a comparatively smaller selection of 17th century texts as well as some
medieval and Renaissance texts. Among ARTFL's texts are dictionaries
for the 17th, 18th, 19th and 20th centuries and the Diderot Encyclopédie ou Dictionnaire Raisonné des Sciences…
Gallica serves as a digital encyclopedia and consists of printed
materials (books, journals, newspapers, printed music, and other
documents), graphic materials (engravings, maps, photographs, and
others), and sound recordings.
Links to websites useful for the study of French literature.
Return to Top
Style Manual
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Ref LB2369 .G53 2003
Return to Top
