Research Guide for German Language Literature
Contact:
Jack Levine
,
Acquisitions Librarian
Getting Started
Return to Top
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
General
Kindlers Neues Literatur Lexikon
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century
European Writers
New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
Ref PN44. K55 1988
A major encyclopedic work covering world literature. Articles include
biographical information, summaries of works and bibliographies for
further research.
Ref PN81 .J554 2005
A guide to the intellectual traditions of literary theory. It includes
articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical
schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of
specific countries and historical periods.
Ref PN771 .E5 1999
Biographical and critical articles include bibliographies of works by and about authors.
Ref PN501 .E9 1983
Essays on authors’ lives, times, and works. Includes bibliographies.
Ref PN1021 .N39 1993
"Provides surveys of 106 national poetries; descriptions of poetic
forms and genres...detailed explanations of the devices of prosody and
rhetoric; and overviews of all major schools of poetry ancient and
modern, Western and Eastern...provides balanced and comprehensive
accounts of the major movements and issues in criticism and literary
theory."
German Language Literature
Encyclopedia of German Literature
The Feminist Encyclopedia of German Literature
Oxford Companion to German Literature
Hauptwerke der Deutschen Literatur : Einzeldarstellungen und Interpretationen
Literaturlexikon : Autoren und Werke Deutscher Sprache, 15 vols.
Kritisches Lexikon zur Deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur (KLG)
Women writers of Germany, Austria, and Switzerland : an Annotated Bio-bibliographical Guide
A Companion to twentieth-century German Literature
Deutsches Literatur-Lexikon : das 20. Jahrhundert : Biographisches-bibliographisches Handbuch
Neues Handbuch der Deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur Seit 1945
Deutsche Dramatiker des 20. Jahrhunderts
Reclams Romanlexikon : Deutschsprachige Erzählende Literatur vom Mittelalter bis zur Gegenwart
Ref PT41 .E63 2000
Essays by German literary scholars in Anglo-American countries, thus
presenting a critical perspective on German literature from the
outside. Essays are on authors, works, and topics. A bibliography
follows each entry.
Ref PT41 .F46 1997
Brief essays on feminist scholarship on German literary and cultural
studies. Essays are not limited to women writers, but include topics
such as literary periods, critical theories, female stereotypes, and
major authors and their works.
Ref PT41 .G3 1997
Brief articles on authors, terms, literary movements, etc. Includes authors writing in German wherever they live.
Ref PT41 .H38 1994
Essays on authors and their works arranged by cultural era.
Ref PT41 .L5 1988
Encyclopedic treatment of German language authors and their works.
Ref PT155 .K757 1978
Critical essays on writers and their works followed by bibliographies
of works by and about the writer. Loose-leaf format permits easy
updating.
Ref PT167 .W66 1989
Articles on 54 women authors from the tenth century to the present.
Each article includes a biography, the author’s major themes, a survey
of criticism and a bibliography.
Ref PT401 .C65 1991
Ref PT401 .D453 2000
Ref PT401 .N48 1993
A guide to contemporary German literature and criticism.
Ref PT666 .D465 2000
Extended essays on twentieth century German dramatists.
Ref PT744 .R42 2000
History, criticism and plot summaries of German fiction.
Return to Top
Guides & Bibliographies
Many German language authors are covered in various volumes of the Dictionary of Literary Biography
(DLB) series. The DLB volumes contain biographical/bibliographical
essays for the authors covered. Several titles are listed below; check
the Library catalog for a complete listing.
German Writers From the Enlightenment to Sturm und Drang, 1720-1764
German Writers in the Age of Goethe, 1789-1832
Nineteenth-century German Writers, 1841-1900
Nineteenth-century German Writers to 1840
German Fiction Writers, 1885-1913
Contemporary German Fiction Writers. First series.
Contemporary German Fiction Writers. Second series.
German Fiction Writers, 1914-1945
Ref PT293 .G47 1990
Ref PT311 .G47 1989
Ref PT341 .N56 1993
Ref PT351 .N56 1993
Ref PT771 .G47 1988
Ref PT772 .C59 1988
Ref PT772 .C593 1988
Ref PT772 .G39 1987
Return to Top
Locating Books
To locate books, look in the library catalog. If you know the author or editor, search Author, last name first. To search by Title,
you must know the first few words of the title, but you do not have to
know the complete title. If you are looking for books on a particular
topic, try a Keyword
search first. Type some keywords and see if you locate any appropriate
book titles. To look for additional titles click on the subject
headings assigned to them to find additional books on you topic.
If you fail to find books on your topic in the Reed catalog, try searching in the Summit
catalog. The Summit catalog contains the books owned by over 25
academic libraries in Oregon and Washington. Click on "Search in
Summit" and the system will automatically perform your search in the
Summit catalog. If you find a title you want you can request it by
clicking the "Request this item" link and following the prompts.
WorldCat
An online catalog, containing over 50 million records for items owned
by Reed and libraries worldwide. Includes books, journal and newspaper
titles, sound recordings, musical scores, films and manuscripts.
Return to Top
Finding Journal Articles and Critical Essays
Indexes (sometimes called databases) allow you to search the contents
of periodicals to identify articles on your topic. Some indexes are
inter-disciplinary, and some focus on a particular subject area. Some
contain fulltext or links to fulltext from other sources. Many include
citations for books, dissertations, and conference papers as well as
journal articles.
After you find a citation for an article, you will need to check the Print & Electronic Journal page to see if Reed subscribes to the journal and if we have the particular issue.
If the article you are looking for is not available at Reed, you can
request it from Interlibrary loan (periodicals cannot be borrowed from
Summit).
Academic Search Premier (1975 - present)
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 – present)
Germanistik (1960 – present)
Humanities Abstracts (1984 – present) and Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907 – 1984)
JSTOR
MLA Bibliography (1921 – present)
Periodicals Index Online (1665 - varies by title)
A multi-disciplinary database containing fulltext for more than 4,600
scholarly publications. In addition to the fulltext, the database
offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,000 journals.
Multi-disciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. (Available through Web of Science.)
Ref PF3010 .G47
Index of books, parts of books and periodical articles on German language literature.
An author and subject index to more than 300 English language
periodicals. Available in print as Humanities Index (Ref AI3 .H8) from
1974 – 2000.
This electronic archive of essential academic journals includes several major journals from the field of German literary studies.
Index of literary, linguistic and folklore scholarship. MLA covers all
languages and all literatures except classical Greek and Latin.
Formerly PCI - Periodicals Contents Index.
An index to millions of articles in more than 4,600 scholarly journals
in the humanities and social sciences. International in scope, PCI
covers journals going back over 300 years.
Return to Top
Style Manual
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Ref LB2369.G53 2003
Return to Top
