Government Documents
Contact:
Dena Hutto
,
Director of Reference & Instruction
Introduction
Reed College receives
approximately 30 percent of U.S. government publications distributed to
libraries in paper, microfiche, and CD-ROM formats. Access to the
collection and to government information on the World Wide Web is
available to members of the Reed community and to the general public.
For more information about the collection or help locating a document,
contact:
As a participant in the Federal Depository Library Program, Reed
College Library has received selected publications, or documents, from
the United States government since 1912. The collection contains many
historical series with holdings dating from the nineteenth century.
Currently, Reed receives about 25 percent of all documents available to
depository libraries. Highlights of the collection include: The Reed College documents collection is
shelved by Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) number in the Center
Stacks, Lower Level 1. In addition to the paper collection, many
government documents are issued as microfiche. They are filed by SuDoc
number in the Microforms Room, located adjacent to the Center Stacks,
Lower Level 1. Selected high-use or special format government documents
are housed in the Reference Room or in other parts of the library.
These materials may be located using the Reed College Library Catalog.
Reed's library reference collection contains several databases,
catalogs, and indexes that can be used to locate any government
publication, not just those in its own documents collection. U.S.
documents not available at Reed College Library may be borrowed from
the regional depository collection at Portland State University, which
includes all documents issued to depository libraries since 1972, or
from other depository libraries in the area.
Return to Top
Government resources available directly on the World Wide Web:
Return to Top
Locating U.S. Government Documents
Reed College Library Catalog
GPO Catalog
U.S. Government Online Bookstore
Consumer Information Center
Search for U.S. government publications received since January 1998, as
well as CD-ROMs and maps published by the U.S. government.
FirstSearch database for identifying U.S. government publications distributed to libraries since 1976.
U.S. government publications available for sale from the Government
Printing Office. Some may be available in libraries as well.
Free and low-cost U.S. government publications on popular, consumer-oriented topics.
Return to Top
