Research Guide for Hum 110

Contact: Rachel Bridgewater , Electronic Resources Librarian

Part 1. The Reference Room

What's There: Librarians at the reference desk. Dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, handbooks and guides to authors, works, and criticism, biographical guides, bibliographies, indexes to journal literature, computer workstations.
How to Start: Identify reference books in the library catalog. You may also browse the reference room by subject or discipline.


Art and Architecture

The Grove Dictionary of Art  
N31 .D5 1996 (34 v.)
Part of Oxford Art Online

The New Century Handbook of Greek Art and Architecture  
N5633 .N39

History, Culture, and Atlases

The Oxford Classical Dictionary  
DE5 .O9 2003
Single most useful reference source for all things Classical.

Encyclopedia of Ancient Civilizations  
CB311 .E52 1988

Encyclopedia of the History of Ancient Archaeology  
DE5 .E5 1996 (2 v.)

Oxford History of the Classical World  
DE59 .O94 1986

Encyclopedia of the Roman Empire  
DG270 .B86 1994

Atlas of Classical History  
G1033 .A833 1985 (atlases)

Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World  
G1033 .B3 2000 (atlases)

The Macmillan Bible Atlas  
G2230 .A2 1993 (atlases)

Language and Literary Criticism

Greek and Latin Authors, 800 B.C.-A.D. 1000  
PA31 .G7 (2 v.)

Oxford Companion to Classical Literature
PA31 .H69 1989
Online version is abridged.

Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism (CMLC)  
A multi-volume survey of critical commentary on the work of specific authors and in some cases specific texts. Each entry contains biographical information, an overview of critical responses since the work was published, and a large bibliography of primary and secondary works. The bulk of each entry is a collection of lengthy excerpts of that critical commentary, providing an excellent overview of scholarly work related to that author or text. There is no order to the contents of the series as a whole. Use the index in the most recent volume in the series to identify which volume has an entry on a specific author, topic, or text.

Philosophy and Religion

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy  
B51 .R68 1998
A comprehensive encyclopedia. The online version can be browsed by philosophical themes, philosophies, historical periods, and religions. Fulltext entries can be searched by keyword, title, contributor, or bibliography.

Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy  
B163 .E53 1997

Encyclopedia of Early Christianity  
BR162.2 .E53 1997

Encyclopedia of Religion  
BL31 .E46 2005
The first edition, edited by Mircea Eliade and published in 1986, is a classic text in the study of Religion and features broad essays with substantial detail and bibliographies. The second edition (the online version) is completely revised with substantial additional content.

Dictionary of Judaism in the Biblical Period : 450 B.C.E. to 600 C.E.  
BM50 .D525 1996 (2 v.)

Return to Top

Part 2. The Book Collection

What's There: Primary texts, including collected and selected works by one author, anthologies of works by several authors, biographies, and criticism published as monographs.
How to Start: For classical authors, search the catalog by author for works. To find books on a particular topic, start with a keyword search.
Beyond Reed: The Summit catalog allows you to search for books at several other college and university libraries in Oregon and Washington. The books you request are delivered to Reed within 2-3 days.


Return to Top

Part 3. The Journal Collection

What's There: Articles by scholars on a variety of topics.
How to Start: a) Use a library database or index to locate articles in journals. Print or make a note of the citation. For Hum 110 research, try:

b) Once you've identified some articles, and if they're not available online from Academic Search Premier or Humanities Abstracts, you need to check the Electronic & Print Periodicals List to see if Reed subscribes in print or to another online source. Be sure to compare the date and volume of the article to our library's holdings.

c) For print holdings, recent issues of non-science journals (usually 1-2 years) are in the South Reference Room. Bound volumes of journals are in the stacks area, south wing. They're arranged alphabetically by title.


Return to Top

Part 4. World Wide Web Sites

What's There: Texts, critical works, illustrations, and maps, as well as Internet versions of many reference works. Not all websites are appropriate for academic research — if you are not sure if the information is accurate or from an authoritative source, ask your professor or a librarian.
How to Start: Use a search engine, like google, or a web portal, like the Librarian's Index to the Internet. For Hum 110, try these websites, selected by Reed faculty and librarians:
 

Perseus Digital Library
Digital library of the classical world

Diotima
Women and gender in the ancient world

Historical Atlas Resource
Includes maps of the ancient and early medieval world


Return to Top