Research Guide for Philosophy
Contact:
Jennie McKee
,
Access Services Librarian
Getting Started
There are many handbooks,
dictionaries, and encyclopedias that provide basic information. If you
are not clear about your topic, try establishing its limits with a good
definition and some introductory information. The following general
sources can give you a quick overview or summary of a topic, and you
can find other, more specialized resources in the Reference Room:
Return to Top
General Resources
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy
A Dictionary of Philosophy
Dictionary of World Philosophy
Directory of American Philosophers
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Handbook of Western Philosophy
International Directory of Philosophy and Philosophers
The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy
The Oxford Companion to Philosophy
The Philosopher's Dictionary
Philosophy: A Guide to the Reference Literature
Research Guide to Philosophy
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Ref B41 .C35 1999
Does not contain articles on living philosophers. Includes an index of all names mentioned in the articles.
Ref B41 .M38 1996
Ref B41 .I26 2001
Global coverage including Africa, Asian, Latin American, Middle
Eastern, Maori, and Native American philosophies. Bibliographies.
Ref B935 .D5 v.2006/2007
Ref & Oversize B41 .E5 1967
The standard encyclopedic work covering Western and Eastern philosophy,
although it does have a bias towards Anglo-American philosophy. The
copy in the Reference Room also has the one volume supplement published
in 1996 which has articles with updates to the major areas of
philosophy and articles on topics new emerged or not treated in the
original volumes and biographies of newly prominent philosophers. 8 v.
with supplement.
Ref B804 .H17 1988
A systemic survey of contemporary Anglo-American philosophical thought.
Includes a glossary, a chronology of the history of philosophy from
1600 to 1960, and indexes.
Ref B35 .I55 v.2001/2002
Comprehensive in coverage. Other than primary sources mentioned in articles there are no bibliographies.
Includes brief bibliographies, portraits, a chronological table and a table of logical symbols.
Brief definitions with notes on usage, spelling and pronunciation.
Ref B72 .B95 1997
A comprehensive guide covering resources in philosophy including
encyclopedias, dictionaries, indexes and bibliographies. Lists
annotated resources for branches, schools and periods of philosophy as
well individual philosophers.
Ref B52 .T5 1983
Includes bibliographic essays on specific chronological periods and
philosophers and on different areas of philosophy. Over 3000
monographic resources are cited with annotations and evaluative
comments.
Ref B51 .R68 1998 (10 v.)
A comprehensive encyclopedia. The online version can be browsed by
philosophical themes, philosophies, historical periods, and religions.
Fulltext entries can be searched by keyword, title, contributor, or
bibliography.
Return to Top
Interdisciplinary Resources
Dictionary of Philosophy and Psychology
Key Ideas in Human Thought
B41 .B18 1911
"Including many of the principal conceptions of ethics, logic,
aesthetics, philosophy of religion, mental pathology, anthropology,
biology, neurology, physiology, economics, political and social
philosophy, philology, physical science, and education; and giving a
terminology in English, French, German, and Italian written by many
hands and edited by James Mark Baldwin." The first philosophy
encyclopedia written in English. Useful for topics now out of date and
the viewpoint of the beginning of the 20th century.
Ref B41 .K48 1993
Around 2,500 "ideas", many of which are outside of philosophy proper but have been important in philosophical thought.
Return to Top
Specialized Areas Resources
Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy
A Companion to Aesthetics
A Companion to Epistemology
A Companion to Ethics
A Companion to the Philosophy of Mind
Dictionary of Philosophy
Encyclopedia of Ethics, 2nd ed.
Encyclopedia of Indian Philosophies: Bibliography
Glossary of Epistemology/Philosophy of Science
Guide to Buddhist Philosophy
Guide to Indian Philosophy
Handbook of Metaphysics and Ontology
Handbook of Philosophical Logic:
A History of Women Philosophers:
Philosophy of Religion: An Annotated Bibliography of Twentieth-century Writings in English
Women Philosophers: A Bio-critical Source Book
Ref B121 .C66 1997
BH56 .C65 1995 (Stacks)
Anglo-American in perspective. Includes bibliographies, cross-references and an index.
BD161 .C637 1992 (Stacks)
Anglo-American in perspective with some attention to the Continental
perspective. Includes bibliographies, cross-references and an index.
BJ1012 .C62 1993 (Stacks)
Survey articles on the subject of ethics. Slanted towards the Western
tradition contains some articles on non-Western ethics.
BD418.3 .C62 1994 (Stacks)
Includes many first person ariticles contributed by contemporary
Anglo-American philosophers. Bibliographies at the end of articles.
B41 .F5513 1984b (Stacks)
Translation of the 4th edition of Filosofskii slovar'. An encyclopedic dictionary covering Western and Eastern philosophy with a Marxist bias.
Ref BJ63 .E45 2001
More than 400 articles primarily written by an prominent thinkers on
philosophical ethics. The focus chiefly Western. All articles include
bibliographies. 3 v.
B131 .P67 1983 (Stacks)
Over 13,000 entries covering books and articles indexed by name, title
and topic. The library has the additional volumes covering specialized
topics in Indian philosophy that are cataloged with separate call
numbers. Check the catalog.
Ref BD150 .F47 1993
Brief entries on concepts, leading thinkers and core ideas in these two fields.
B162 .I53 1985 (Stacks)
Annotated bibliography of mostly English books, articles, and dissertations.
Ref B5131 .P68 1988
Annotated bibliography of mostly English books and articles from the 20th century.
Ref BD111 .H225 1991
Almost 500 hundred articles that cover the historical figures, concepts
and the logical and mathematical tools of metaphysics reflecting both
the Continental and Anglo-American perspectives. 2 v.
V. 1. Elements of Classical Logic
BC71 .H36 1983 (Stacks)
V. 2. Extensions of Classical Logic
BC71 .E98 1984 (Stacks)
Systematic overview of the essential areas of philosophical logic.
V. 1. Ancient Women Philosophers, 600 B.C. - 500 A.D.
B105.W6 A53 1987 (Stacks)
V. 2. Medieval, Renaissance and Enlightenment Women Philosophers, A.D. 500 - 1600
Ref B105 .W6 M39 1989
V. 3. Modern Women Philosophers, 1600 - 1900
Ref B105.W6 M63 1991
V. 4. Contemporary Women Philosophers: 1900 - Today
Ref B105.W6 C66 1995
Essays on individual women philosophers. Includes overviews,
bibliographies and timeline of the women philosophers showing
chronological overlap with contemporary male philosophers.
BL51 .W34 1978 (Stacks)
Over 1100 entries grouped in categories.
Ref B105.W6 K47 1989
Has overview, bibliographies and name index. Includes an alphabetical
table of women philosophers with countries dates and disciplines.
Return to Top
Specialized Period Resources
Ancient
Greek Philosophical Terms; A Historical Lexicon
Plato and Socrates: A Comprehensive Bibliography, 1958 - 1973
Socrates: An Annotated Bibliography
Ref B49 .P4
Includes an English-Greek index and textual citation to Greek philosophers.
Ref PA4290.A5 M33 1978
About 4000 items divided in separate section for each philosopher and topically subdivided. An author index.
Ref B317 .N38 1988
Divided into broad subject divisions. An author index.
Medieval
The Cambridge History of Later Greek and Early Medieval Philosophy
The
Cambridge History of Later Medieval Philosophy: From the Rediscovery of
Aristotle to the Disintegration of Scholasticism, 1100 - 1600
B171 .A79 (Stacks)
B721 .C35 1982 (Stacks)
Renaissance
The Cambridge History of Renaissance Philosophy
B775 .C25 1988 (Stacks)
"Discusses the background and advancement of Renaissance philosophy,
metaphysics, psychology, and related fields." Name and subject indexes.
Modern
Bibliographia Cartesiana, A Critical Guide to the Descartes Literature, 1880 - 1960
The Blackwell Companion to the Enlightenment
B1873 .S43 1964 (Stacks)
Ref CB411 .B57 1991
Provides strong coverage to the philosophical thought of the period
although it covers much more. Articles on both the major philosophers
of the time as well as many of the less familiar. There are articles on
many of the important philosophical topics of the time.
20th Century
Encyclopædia of Religion and Ethics
Martin Heidegger, Bibliography and Glossary
Wittgenstein: A Bibliographical Guide
Ref BL31 .E4
Although this encyclopedia is out of date for current developments, its
extensive articles are a valuable resource for late 19th and early 20th century thought and literature. 13 v. (1908-1922)
B3279 .H49 S282 1982 (Stacks)
B3376 .W564 1990
Annotated. Indexes of proper names and reviews of Wittgenstein writings.
Return to Top
Locating Books
To locate books, look in the online library catalog. If you know the author or editor, search Author, last name first. To search by Title, you must know the first few words of the title, but you do not have to know the complete title. To search successfully by Subject, you must use subject terms from the Library of Congress Subject Headings. These can be found in large red books directly behind the Reference Desk.
If you cannot find a particular subject, try a keyword search. Once you locate some appropriate book titles, make note of the subject headings assigned to them. You can then do a subject search
on those headings to locate more books. Alternatively, you can check
the stacks for other books with similar call numbers.
To search for books in the Summit
system, access the library catalog as usual, and select button "Search
in Summit" above the record. If you find books in Summit which are not
owned by Reed, you can request the books directly from the catalog. You
will need to enter your barcode number (it is on the back of your Reed
ID card). You will be notified when the book arrives. The borrowing
period is three weeks with one renewal allowed.
Return to Top
Finding Journal Articles and Essays
Reed community only. Off campus access is available.
Indexes (sometimes called databases) allow you to search the contents
of periodicals to identify articles on your topic. Some indexes are
inter-disciplinary, and some focus on a particular subject area. Some
contain fulltext or links to fulltext from other sources. Many include
citations for books, dissertations, and conference papers as well as
journal articles.
After you find a citation for an article, you will need to check the Print & Electronic Journal page to see if Reed subscribes to the journal and if we have the particular issue.
If the article you are looking for is not available at Reed, you can
request it from Interlibrary loan (periodicals cannot be borrowed from
Summit).
Academic Search Premier (1975 - present)
L'Année Philologique
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present)
ATLA Religion (1949-present)
Bibliographie de la Philosophie = Bibliography of Philosophy (1954 - 1993)
Essay and General Literature Index (1985 - present)
Humanities Abstracts (1984 - present) and Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907 - 1984)
JSTOR
Periodicals Index Online (Coverage varies)
Philosopher's Index (1940 - present)
The Philosopher's Index: A Retrospective Index to Non-U.S. English Language Publications from 1940
A multi-disciplinary database containing fulltext for nearly 4,000
scholarly publications. In addition to the fulltext, the database
offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 7.700 journals.
Ref PA3001 .A56
The international index to scholarship in classics. You may need a copy
of the print version (available from 1914 - present) to find the list
of journal title abbreviations used in the entries online. Entries in
English, French, German, Italian, and other languages.
As part of the "Web of Science" (along with the Social Sciences
Citation Index and the Science Citation Index). The three indexes may
be searched singly or together. Enables searching of references cited
in books and journal articles, as well as subject, author, and title
searching.
A comprehensive database that supports religious and theological
scholarship. Contains links to some fulltext journal articles
B77 .B52 (Stacks)
An international bibliography of books providing abstracts in the
original language of the item along with French or English
translations.
Ref AI3 .E78
Use this database to find essays and articles contained in collections
(i.e. books) of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United
States, Great Britain, and Canada. Print is available from 1900 - 1998.
An index of articles in the humanities, with abstracts starting in 1994.
Searchable electronic archive of the fulltext of journals. Coverage is
from journal's first date of publication to three to five years before
the present date.
An electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the
humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1993. Every
article is indexed. Easy to search for book reviews.
Indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and
related interdisciplinary fields published throughout the Western World
since 1967. Coverage from 1940 for U.S. materials.
Ref B72 .P473 1980
Covers books published outside of the United States between 1940 - 1976 and articles between 1940 - 1966.
Return to Top
Selected Web Resources
CogPrints - Philosophy
Contemporary Philosophy of the Mind: an Annotated Bibliography compiled by David Chalmers.
The Marx/Engels Internet Archive
Paideia Project
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Bibliography from the Cognitive Sciences E-print Archive with abstracts. Browseable and searchable.
Browseable online bibliography of over 5,000 print articles and books on philosophy of mind.
An archive of papers from the Twentieth World Congress of Philosophy (1998).
A dynamic encyclopedia with each entry maintained and kept up-to-date by an expert or group of experts in the field.
Return to Top
Writing Guides
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, 2nd ed.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 6th ed.
Ref PN147 .G444 1998
Ref LB2369 .G53 2003
Return to Top
