Research Guide for Russian Literature
Contact:
Jennie McKee
,
Access Services Librarian
Getting Started
There are many handbooks,
dictionaries, and encyclopedias that provide basic information. If you
are not clear about your topic, try establishing its limits with a good
definition and some introductory information. The following general
sources can give you a quick overview or summary of a topic, and you
can find other, more specialized resources in the Reference Room:
Return to Top
Handbooks, Dictionaries, and Encyclopedias
General Literature
A Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory
Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century
European Writers
A Glossary of Literary Terms
New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
Ref PN41 .C83 1998
"A comprehensive dictionary of literary terms which are in regular use in the world today."
Ref PN771 .E5 1999 (4 v.)
Ref PN501 .E9 1983
Articles about author's time, life, and works. Bibliographies follow each article. 14 vols.
Ref PN41 .A184 2005
Defines and discusses terms, critical theories, and points of view
commonly used in the analysis and interpretation of literary works.
Ref PN1021 .N39 1993
History, theory, technique, and criticism of poetry from earliest period to present. Available online through Literature Online.
Russian Literature
Handbook of Russian Literature
Reference Guide to Russian Literature
Ref PG2940 .H29 1985
Excellent source for starting your research. Includes short bibliographies to get research started.
Ref PG2940 .R44 1998
Articles about the major Russian writers and their works.
Return to Top
Bibliographies and History of Russian Literature
Dictionary of Russian Women Writers
Early Modern Russian Writers, Late Seventeenth and Eighteenth Centuries
History of Russian Literature
Nineteenth-century Russian Literature in English: A Bibliography of Criticism and Translations
Russian Literature in the Age of Pushkin and Gogol. Poetry and Drama
Russian Literature in the Age of Pushkin and Gogol. Prose
Russian Women Writers
Ref PG2997 .D53 1994
Life and works of 448 authors.
Ref PG2991.2 .E17 1995
Articles about a writer's times, life and works.
Ref PG2950 .T43 1991
Ref PG3012 .P76 1990
Ref PG2991.3 .R866 1999
Ref PG3093 .R79 1999
Ref PG3203.W64 R868 1999 (2 v.)
Return to Top
Literary Criticism and Critical Theory
Contemporary Critical Theory: A Selective Bibliography
Dictionary of Concepts in Literary Criticism and Theory
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Literary Theory: Approaches, Scholars, Terms
Encyclopedia of Literary Critics and Criticism
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
Twentieth-century Literary Movements Dictionary
Ref PN81 .M37 C6 1993
Lists books on contemporary critical theory and on the works of the leading individual theorists.
Ref PN41 .H36 1992
Essays on seventy concepts of special importance to literary theory.
Ref PN81 .E63 1993
Ref PN86 .E63 1999
"Guide to literary theory and criticism past and present." Entries
cover individuals, theories and concepts in both Western and
non-Western theory and criticism. 2 v.
Ref PN81 .J554 2005
Ref PN597 .T94 2000
"Entries on major and minor literary movements and schools associated
with Twentieth-century world literature." Includes entries on
individual writers identified with those movements, such as novelists,
poets, dramatists, theorists, etc.
Return to Top
Single-author Guides
These are a sample of single author reference guides that are available in the library.
Anton Chekov: A Reference Guide to Literature
Boris Pasternak: A Reference Guide
Fedor Dostoevsky: A Reference Guide
The Garland Companion to Vladimir Nabokov
Maksim Gorky: A Reference Guide
Viacheslav Ivanov: A Reference Guide
Ref PG3458 .Z8 L36 1985
Works by Chekov written after 1887; works before 1887 limited to the
most important. Works about Chekov limited to 1200 titles in Russian,
English, French and German, but heavily weighted to English language
materials. Arrangement in both sections is chronological.
Ref PG3476 .P27 S46 1994
Ref PG3328.27 .L4 1990
Writings by and about Dostoevsky. Critical writings from 1846 - 1988
are limited to the "best" and were chosen to illustrate changing
critical patterns.
Ref PG3476 .N3 Z668 1995
Ref PG3465 .Z8 C55 1987
PG3476.I8 D38 1996
Return to Top
Locating Books
To locate books, look in the online library catalog. If you know the author or editor, search Author, last name first. To search by Title, you must know the first few words of the title, but you do not have to know the complete title. To search successfully by Subject, you must use subject terms from the Library of Congress Subject Headings. These can be found in large red books directly behind the Reference Desk.
If you cannot find a particular subject, try a keyword search. Once you locate some appropriate book titles, make note of the subject headings assigned to them. You can then do a subject search
on those headings to locate more books. Alternatively, you can check
the stacks for other books with similar call numbers.
To search for books in the Summit
system, access the library catalog as usual, and select button "Search
in Summit" above the record. If you find books in Summit which are not
owned by Reed, you can request the books directly from the catalog. You
will need to enter your barcode number (it is on the back of your Reed
ID card). You will be notified when the book arrives. The borrowing
period is three weeks with one renewal allowed.
Return to Top
Finding Journal Articles and Essays
Reed community only. Off campus access is available.
Indexes (sometimes called databases) allow you to search the contents
of periodicals to identify articles on your topic. Some indexes are
inter-disciplinary, and some focus on a particular subject area. Some
contain fulltext or links to fulltext from other sources. Many include
citations for books, dissertations, and conference papers as well as
journal articles.
After you find a citation for an article, you will need to check the Print & Electronic Journal page to see if Reed subscribes to the journal and if we have the particular issue.
If the article you are looking for is not available at Reed, you can
request it from Interlibrary loan (periodicals cannot be borrowed from
Summit).
Academic Search Premier (1975 - present)
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present)
Essay and General Literature Index (1985 - present)
Humanities Abstracts (1984 - present) and Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907 - 1984)
JSTOR
Literary Index
MLA International Bibliography (1926 - present)
Periodicals Index Online (Coverage varies)
Short Story Index (1984 - 1997)
A multi-disciplinary database containing fulltext for nearly 4,000
scholarly publications. In addition to the fulltext, the database
offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 7.700 journals.
As part of the "Web of Science" (along with the Social Sciences
Citation Index and the Science Citation Index). The three indexes may
be searched singly or together. Enables searching of references cited
in books and journal articles, as well as subject, author, and title
searching.
Ref AI3 .E78
Use this database to find essays and articles contained in collections
(i.e. books) of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United
States, Great Britain, and Canada. Print is available from 1900 - 1998.
An index of articles in the humanities, with abstracts starting in 1994.
Searchable electronic archive of the fulltext of journals. Coverage is
from journal's first date of publication to three to five years before
the present date.
"Gale's Literary Index is a master index to every literary series
published by Gale. It combines and cross references more than 130,000
author names including pseudonyms and variant names and more than
140,000 titles into one source."
Ref PB1 .M521
Annual bibliography of books, periodical articles, dissertations, and
festschriften for the entire field of modern languages and literatures.
Available in print 1921 - 1962.
An electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the
humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1993. Every
article is indexed. Easy to search for book reviews.
Ref PN3373 .S382
It is an index to short stories written in or translated into English
that have appeared in collections and selected periodicals. The
periodicals are those indexed in Readers' Guide to Periodical
Literature and Humanities Index. 1984-1993 is available in print in the
reference room and 1984-1997 electronically.
Return to Top
Style Manuals
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Ref PN147 .G444 1998
Ref LB2369 .G53 2003
Return to Top
