Resource Guide for Sociology

Contact: Dena Hutto , Director of Reference & Instruction

Reference Works

These subject-specific encyclopedias provide easy access to authoritative definitions and concepts used in the methodology and approaches to sociology.

Encyclopedia of Social Measurement, 3 vols.
Ref H62 .E53 2005b
Articles on the quantitative and qualitative approaches to research problems in the social sciences.

Encyclopedia of Sociology, 5 vols.
Ref HM425 .E5 2000
Covers topics often discussed within sociology. Contains 370 articles with information on classic and new sociological concerns, and discusses current concept and investigations. Includes extensive references for each entry.

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences, 26 vols.
Ref H41.I58 2001
Landmark reference work provides a disciplinary and cross-disciplinary survey of the social and behavioral sciences. Includes important institutions, history, ethics of research, biographies, statistics, and research design. Includes bibliographic references.

Return to Top

Useful Electronic Collections

Academic Search Premier
Database of abstracts from a wide variety of disciplines, including articles published in thousands of scholarly and general interest journals. Most journals have fulltext articles available online, making Academic Search Premier a convenient tool for quickly retrieving articles online.

JSTOR
This electronic archive of essential academic journals includes several major journals from the field of sociology. Current issues of journals are not included in JSTOR.

Return to Top

Literature Review Tools

A literature review on any topic begins with a thorough search for books using the library catalog, Summit, and WorldCat. But in order to conduct a more thorough search, including the journal literature and other source materials, more tools are needed. These sources are especially useful for students of sociology.

Annual Review of Sociology (1972 - present)
Literature reviews on a broad range of topics in the field of sociology. Invaluable for identifying and tracking trends and important contributions to the literature.

Contemporary Sociology
A journal of review essays and short book reviews, organized by twelve broad categories (e.g., ideology and cultural production; social control and law; inequalities). The review essays generally cover one or more books by a leading author compare two or three books on a topic, or present a symposium by a number of authors on an important book, topic or debate in sociology.

Social Sciences Citation Index (part of Web of Science) (1956 - present)
Abstracts of articles published in some of the most prestigious journals from a broad spectrum of the social sciences disciplines. An essential part of any literature search in the social sciences for its currency, selectivity, and the ability to search for important works or authors cited.

Sociological Abstracts (1952 - present)
The primary research database for sociologists is an important research tool for cultural anthropologists as well. Abstracts of scholarly articles, book reviews, and conference papers.

Return to Top

Social Data Sources

Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition, 5 vols.
Ref HA202 .H57 2006
Updated and expanded edition provides essays on data sources, tables, and downloadable Excel files.

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
Data archive for social scientists. Reed community members may download data and documentation. Proficiency in a statistical program such as STATA, SPSS, or SAS is needed to use these data sets.

Lexis Nexis Statistical
This is the most comprehensive index for publications of the U.S. government, international organizations, foreign countries, U.S. state governments, and non-governmental organizations.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Ref HA202 .U5
Convenient compilation of frequently sought statistics on a broad range of topics. Includes references to data sources. Older editions in the Stacks.

Return to Top